Preparing pine needles for medicinal extraction

in #naturalmedicine3 years ago

Pine needles (from the common pine tree) are loaded with medicinal resin, and have been used for thousands of years by indigenous North Americans and Chinese peoples. Quercetin, a bitter plant flavinoid used to boost immune health, is one of the compounds extracted from pine. Another is the aromatic terpene pinene, which has numerous medicinal properties as well. Modern science has confirmed these properties, yet knowledge of pine medicine has all-but-disappeared from society, perhaps because there is no money to be made in promoting natural plant treatments. Today, I harvested a branch from a nearby lodgepole pine, then prepared its needles for hot water extraction.

As you can see, I've even got a cone on this branch. I'll only be using the needles for this project. To keep the branch alive and fresh, I wrapped a damp paper towel around the cut end.

The leaves ("needles") on a lodgepole pine are long, sharp, and attached to the branch in clusters of 2. As in all conifer trees, the needles stay green all year round. Lodgepoles are one of the best pines for medicinal uses, and are found all around North America at mid elevations.

After washing the branch to remove dust and pollutants, I plucked off the needles:

I was surprised my fingers didn't get sticky. The resin is kept locked inside the branches, cones, and needles. Even though it was fresh, the branch and needles had little smell. That is, until we started cutting the needles!

But first, I piled them all up while heating a pot of water on the stove.

It felt like having spell components, ready for use! Free medicine from nature... it's a bit like magic!

To see my wife extract the medicine and make pine needle tea, click here.

This may be useful information, as quercetin is being used extensively to fight off Covid, the flu, colds, and other viral infections. Supply chains are currently breaking down and many items are becoming unavailable as we head into winter. Being able to produce pinene, quercetin, and other medicinal compounds abundantly from Nature is a valuable skill.

DRutter

Sort:  

This information is worth its weight in gold!
I was not aware of this medicinal use of pine needles. I learned something new from you yet again!
I'm going to have to get some pine needles on my next outing :D

Headed over to your wife's post to see the rest of the process.

Great post, thank you for sharing man!

I just found you on Odysee. You have good taste in music :)

drutter-odysee-comment.png

I sure do! Thanks for noticing :P
How long have you listened to Disl Automatic?
Do you have any favourites? Mine would be tracks like They Don't Care About Us, Society is Insanity, Never Trust the Government, War on Drugs is a War on Us, Go the Distance, Battle Cry... well way too many to start a list LOL

I found him yesterday after hearing BURN BABYLON BURN and immediately fell in love with his music. He became a legend in my book just from that one song.

I'm also a big fan of Society is Insanity. I haven't listened to the other ones you listed but I will be doing that today or tomorrow.

Hahah! As Disl might say, that's BIG!
I was blessed to locate him quite some time ago, about 2013 when he had been putting out YouTube tracks for a year or so. I actually interviewed him in 2014 here.
Yeah definitely a legend. In 200 original tracks or so, I've never disagreed with him about anything major. I almost always agree 100%, and find he says things better than I could, even within a song! Not to mention the level of talent he's got, and the effort he puts in.
He has a lesser-known album called GEMS if you haven't that yet. Several great tracks on there. I think it was 2017.
Disl got me to like hiphop again. And understand why it went to shit and turned into useless gangster crap in the 90s/00s. He's my favourite all time rapper and one of my favourite all time artists. Great dude, too!

!LUV it! Can't wait to try some :)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@drutter, you've been given LUV from @medikatie.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Mmmm very green, very plant-based, very medicinal and traditional.

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@networkallstar(4/10) tipped @drutter (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hehehe, you never know!
Actually I would !LUV to have a wizard in the family, that's pretty cool : P

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@networkallstar, you've been given LUV from @greatesteem.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@drutter, you've been given LUV from @networkallstar.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (4/10)