Sort:  

Purple tree collards look a lot like regular collards, though they turn purple after a frost, so just imagine collards with a tall skinny stem, and that's a good approximation.

They are a fast-growing perennial, so if they are happy in a given location, they can easily grow to 4' to 6' in a season, or around 1.5 to 2 meters, though sometimes they can to 8' or more, or a bit under 3 meters.

Most of the people I know who grow them cut them back to about 4' to 6' at the end of the growing season, both to start new plants and to keep them more easily harvestable.

I'm really hoping that they will be reliably perennial in my climate.

Waking stick cabbage is generally treated as an annual, and I'm not certain if it would overwinter and continue to grow or not. I may have to overwinter a few inside and see, providing they don't get too tall to do so.

Posted using Partiko Android