You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mother's Medicine

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

So glad you can appreciate your mom's concern and caring with her cooking the best and healthiest foods available for her family!
It was only after I had had my accident and lost my health for a bit did I really appreciate how my mom had cared for and nourished us plus how precious our health is and not to abuse it!
That's quite the picture of your dad in his Bikram yoga phase! I thought for sure it was a stock photo - He's quite a handsome man!
Damn those wars and the havoc they cause in peoples lives!
I'm sure all that love and care your mom gave played a big part in keeping him going through these rough times a long with you being so healthy and health conscious too!
Thanks for sharing your story! But I'm glad I just finished eating a big meal before reading it, for all the mentions of those delicious foods would have made me real hungry!

Sort:  

Hahah yes I was hungry when I wrote it! Funny, people have been telling me my Dad was handsome my whole life, even my friends at high school haha (he would have been mid 30s to early 40s then). He has only deteriorated in last 2 years due to illness, we really noticed it at fam dinner on Friday looking at pictures from fam holiday in Bali 10 years ago.. he looked sooo much.younger and fitter. Damn those ravages of time! I do feel closer and more appreciative of Mum, a shame it takes a tough time to really know what you have got, as you say.

Funny, at the time of that photo he thought he looked old and decrepit haha! Then that ad went in the local paper and everyone was amazed. I miss those days of daily yoga with Dad. We moved to vinyasa and less heated classes which was better and more spiritual but we did gain a lot of fitness and got very thin from all that sweating!!! It was an intense practice I learnt a lot from, even though the guy who started it was a bit of a nutcase and morally bereft.

I think it's so wonderful that you could do yoga classes with your dad - your family seems very close and pulling tight together to support your dad! Sending love and hugs your way!

And back tp you. Hows hubby?

Posted using Partiko Android