You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mother's Medicine

I still love that first photo of your mum and dad - it speaks volumes and the studio photo is a treasure (as is the cake one because I love real moments). I can relate to your mum because I am the first in the family to step onto a new path and become passionate about food and nutrition. I do try to help my parents and everyone who enters our home, appreciate and truly enjoy food and see it differently so maybe that's one of the roles that was meant for me. my mum always made food seem like such a chore and my mother in law also does not like to cook. Something that was taught to that generation I suppose?

Sort:  

Maybe they just slaved at other things too much, or had too many demands on them. I hate cooking when I HAVE to and sometimes I go on strike. Like Friday. Jamie had to make puttanesca.

My mum used to say how cooking was a chore and burden for women, making it sound so bloody awful then she'd tell me to come to help her because I should learn how and I'd be like ..uh ...sorry ... gotta help dad change the shocks on the truck. She didn't exactly sell it to me when I was a kid. I feel bad now that I look back.

I love the "he HAD to make" .. I sometimes go on strike as well but then we don't eat. I've been fed while injured but it is a rarety. I do 99.99% of the cooking normally.