You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turns out I have medicine growing in my yard! Do you? It's called USNEA.

Wow I surely learn something new everyday. This is the first of me hearing the term usnea. Do you know how many times I have seen lichen growing up? Oh sooo many! I had no clue the treasure that was hidden within! This was an awesome informative post! I don’t have an oak tree in my yard but I will keep an eye out and inform those who do. I love natural remedies and natural medicines. I think it is neat how you dehydrated it and then turned it into powder form! Please keep us posted on what you decide to use it for and how it worked for you! 😃

Sort:  

I'd never heard of usnea before either, and I have been fascinated by lichens my whole life. I read that the inside fungi part is a major immune system booster, and the outside algae part is the antibiotic. Amazing! I dont know how I never knew that was what a lichen is.
They dont only grow on oaks, but that is a common place to find them. It can be on any old, decaying hardwood, from what I am reading. Our oak trees are so old, they have many dying branches up there, and whenever it rains, a few always fall. (The trees are healthy, its just part of their aging, I guess.)

Ill definitely have to do an update post when I have used this stuff and tell everyone how it works! ♥

Wow this is so amazing! I probably would have never known about this if you didn’t post it. I love learning about these hidden treasure because you never know when you”ll run into some. I’m adding this to my knowledge book lol!! 😃

Yes please keep us updated!