You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turns out I have medicine growing in my yard! Do you? It's called USNEA.

Its amazing!
If Im remembering correctly, the internal fungi is an amazing immune booster, and the algal exterior is the antibiotic.
I actually left the little sticks in. Those were the inside fungi part. Im not sure if I need to buy a better grinder, or perhaps dehydrate longer, but they did not want to grind up! I decided to leave them in anyway because I want their benefits as well!

Sort:  

Its great to know what the different parts of the plant do.

I guess it could be that it needs a little bit more drying. Definitely live them in, then. Getting them out will be losing a part of the plant's goodness, yeah?

Yes, I think it would take away half the lichen's benefits. My husband was catching a cold this weekend and he took this along with some other home remedies. We just mixed it into honey and he ate it that way. He asked what the sticks were, but once I explained, he just ate it up. I tried it too, and it wasnt too weird or anything.
He got better after taking it, so thats good. :D