Huge Alligators - Everglades, Florida

in #nature7 years ago

Luckily, I was in an airboat while viewing these alligators in the Everglades. I really never expected to see one this huge.

These gators where seen while on a airboat tour of the Everglades out of the Billie Swamp safari which is located inside the Big Cypress Seminole Indian Reservation. This area is only part of the 2,200 acres of untamed Florida Everglades preserved in its pristine state by the Seminole Tribe of Florida.


Well, I thought the first gator I saw was big, until I saw this guy (girl?).


I don't know if alligators eat turtles, but I guess this turtle wasn't concerned as this gator was one of the smaller ones seen in the Everglades this day.


An hour or so later, on the return trip back, this gator was still in the same place. I don't know what he's been eating here in the swamps, but obviously he is eating good!

Sort:  

wow.. huge one.. thanks for sharing your experience

holy crap those things are huge. I enjoy the concept of large animals but getting that close in person kust seems a bit spooky to me. I'll stick with the rare bear that wanders down that can be scared off with noise. Gators remind me of trained killers, I just dont want to turn my back on them.

Regardless, great photohraphs and a great read. Thanks for sharing.