You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ozark Trees - Pretty Paw-Paw Pictures!

in #nature6 years ago

The seeds have been notoriously hard to cultivate, which is why you never see them in stores. They will probably never make it as a commercial crop, which is okay with me, because I love foraging for them. Unfortunately, They don't grow where I live now, but when I visit MI, I try and get out and see if the trees are still there.

Sort:  

I honestly didn't know they grew as far north as Michigan! That's cool. We are in the Southern Missouri Ozarks and they seem to love it here. I know of several places along the Jacks Fork that they grow but I almost never get there in time to actually get any fruit. Those deer and raccoons are tricky fellers!

My understanding was that they aren't sold in grocery stores because the fruit is too soft to transport well . Either way it would make a great market crop!

ETA: Baker Creek sells pawpaw seeds