Homeschool buddy meet up- playin' in the spring!

in #nature6 years ago

It was near 90°F here in Kentucky today.
The #hippiedaughters and I joined up with @themyrrhmaid and her daughters for some fun in the water!

PicsArt_05-25-10.35.08.jpg

20180525_122916.jpg

We have found this wonderful little watering hole, about 10 miles south of me. It's a public nature reserve. Kept up rather nicely!


PicsArt_05-25-10.33.57.jpg


The girls had a blast!

My dear @themyrrhmaid enjoyed soaking her glowingly pregnant self❤


PicsArt_05-25-10.41.16.jpg


PicsArt_05-25-10.36.29.jpg


PicsArt_05-25-10.58.56.jpg


PicsArt_05-25-10.59.49.jpg


We turned play time into homeschool time when we stumbled upon a still pool with crawdads! The girls were enamoured with these tiny creatures! All were less than 2 inches long, so likely young ones.


PicsArt_05-25-11.01.07.jpg


PicsArt_05-25-11.01.39.jpg


PicsArt_05-25-11.02.36.jpg


PicsArt_05-25-11.02.08.jpg


We discussed the similarities of crawfish with lobsters, shrimp, etc.
Planning on looking up more information about crawfish/crawdads tomorrow!


Thank you for stopping by! I hope you enjoyed our little watering hole!

PicsArt_05-25-11.00.31.jpg


20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

That water looks so refreshing! Looks like a really fun water time! I love the freedom of homeschooling and how we can turn any moment into a moment of learning! Thanks for sharing~ 😊

It was quite cold 😂 but come July, when its ridiculously hot and humid, that cold water will be amazing!

We homeschool on the fly most every day!

Lol!!! 😂

Well that’s awesome that you all venture out and enjoy nature and it’s surroundings!! 😊

Love it! I remember going and playing in the creek like this when I was a kid. So much fun, and so educational! ♥
Beautiful photos!

Thanks!

My brother and I used to hunt crawdads in the creeks when we were little too :)

Oh my! You are blessed to have such a place you can get to in the heat!

No wonder it was taking time to upload your post mama, the pics are the high pixel quality. My net's slow in the boonies so it was loading a little slow for me.

Looks like everyone had a blast, we need that here. I wish...

Im hoping high pixel quality is a good thing? Haha!

It is a lovely spot!

It's a good thing on reading a post because it's not grainy. But I know it sucks when uploading one, it takes a looong time.

You figured it out! Lol. I noticed the high pixels too.

So awesome! Best day out learning :) Your girls are brave picking them up!
I like.png

They didn't quite get the nerve to fully pick them up, but they touched them a few times 😂

Still way closer than I could ever get!
1501535b-1809-401d-bfce-796ebefd121c-5c11957b-cb69-432a-9bff-9d76967bd0b3-v1.png

I love it when life turns to homeschool.

It makes staying home with the kids make so much sense.

Thanks for sharing.

Everyday turns into "school" for us! We love it!

Yes it does! I realize some people absolutely cannot get by without mom working... But otherwise, stay home! You will not regret it when you kids are grown!

A glass jar, placed behind the crawdad, is a
great trap. Move your hands in front of the bug, and they will swim backwards, right into the jar which they can't see. Fun times!

Caught, and momma didn't have to touch them, LOL! :)

Great idea! Thanks!
Im totally fine grabbing big ones.. But the tiny ones are wirey and fast! Haha! Kinda creep me out!

I have used them for bait. A jar trap is deadly! :)