Sunset at Silverwood Lake

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

20180818_192710.jpg

Silverwood Lake State Recreation Area is a reservoir hanging between the San Bernardino Mountains and the high desert community of Hesperia. We like to visit its southernmost tip, Miller Canyon, and walk the two miles to Serrano Beach Landing. Now that we are licensed to fish, @mattlovell and I tested the waters in the late afternoon.

20180818_183559~2.jpg
Matt prepares the rig for my trout fishing pole.

The moment we reached the water's edge, we saw a 10-inch trout darting around in the shallows. But I allowed Brisket to splash and swim for sticks, scaring away the fish.

20180818_183630~2.jpg How can I resist?

We moved on to the dock so that Matt could try the deeper water for stripers and Brisket's play couldn't come close enough to disturb our prey.

20180818_192434~2.jpg

I plied my trout rig in a clearing of water weeds. I could see many 10-12 inchers come and have a sniff. One even took a nibble. A huge catfish also visited my bait, but none took the hook.

Matt tried his luck at the deeper water at the end of the dock. He got one hit, but the fish did not set the hook and swam free.

20180818_192413.jpg

We realized that it was getting late. We had to hurry back before they locked the gate at 8pm. It is hard for me to focus on clocks and gates when in nature. Across the water, an Osprey squawked as it bedded down in its stick nest atop a towering dead tree.

20180818_193653~2.jpg

I also spotted an Egret roosting on the far side of the lake.

20180818_193714~2.jpg

We had to yield the road to a Western Diamondback who stretched his entire length on the warm asphalt, charging up for its nighttime hunting.

20180818_194002~2.jpg

Miller Canyon is a snakepit! Immediately after stepping around the rattler, we encountered this gorgeous California Kingsnake rippling across the road:

I was relieved to reach the truck before we were locked in for the night. I relaxed and let my beloved take us back up the winding road to Crestline, where we were treated to a panorama of city lights.

20180818_202736.jpg

May all beings dwell in love, kindness, peace and joy!

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

I have never seen a California King in the wild. That was an awesome snake and a beautiful specimen. I feel lucky to have witnessed him/her in the wild. (I am the male voice in the video for those who don't know me)

Stunning area to fish, great posts. Just got into fishing and checking out all the old posts on Steemit for inspiration on doing my own. Great read thanks.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Awesome thanks

Wow beautiful place! Jealous tehe. I grew up catching all kinds of snakes and reptiles And now im squirmish lil girl lol. Especially the poisonous ones. When my grass gets high (which it is now) snakes really love my house. So no fish i take it :(. Beautiful pictures :)

20180815_100659.jpeg

20180730_173640.jpg

My boy likes to catch reptiles, too. Once he pulled a Chuckwalla out of the rocks in the Mojave! I don't mess around with snakes, though. Rattlers don't always rattle!

Your snake photos are beautiful, what kind are those?

No luck fishing this time...one of these days, I know we'll be successful! I am trying to talk @mattlovell into taking us to another fishin' hole today, lol!

Cool your boy does. Hope hubby takes another fishing adventure. Getting back to this response, it was stuck in the brain. The black one is a common black snake "The Black Racer". The red one i wasnt sure about but found a match. Its actually a lil not suppose to be this South.

Here it is...Screenshot_20180815-150122_Samsung Internet.jpg

Nice pictures and great post. To me, there is nothing like the outdoors, especially the sunset skies, the fishing, nature and my dog.

Thanks, I agree completely! Cheers!

Snakes and spiders I’m no fan of. Here in eastern Washington we have tons of rattle snakes. I’ve been lucky enough not to come across too many.
That lake is beautiful, I expect to see you guys reel in some fish next time. He he he. Thanks for sharing such and amazing place

Thanks for adding your reply to the nice experience :) I am with you in enjoying snakes and spiders at more of a distance! Rattler season always keeps me vigilant around here!
Thanks for cheering on my fishing learning curve.
Have a beautiful day!

Pretty sure your hook and bait where too big for the trout we saw. we will pick up some smaller hooks before we go out again.

Awe, I love this post. Brisket looks so happy to have played with the fish. That king snake though… what a beaut. As soon as you two approached it stopped dead in it’s tracks (kind of scary). I totally agree, screw clocks when you’re immersed in nature’s time. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by! That kingsnake is certainly formidable! Cheers and have a beautiful day :)

“Formidable”, good word for it.

Where I come from snakes are perceived to be great enemies to man. We don't take chances with them, most of them get killed once they're spotted. It irritates me and I'm no fan, the lake looks inviting, a tent beside it will make a good life.

A lot of folks around here will kill them on sight. But this is their home, and they eat so many vermin! Thanks for your thoughtful comment :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=creationofcare
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sunset-at-silverwood-lake


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

Here is an osprey cam showing what goes on in a nest like that!

that is my biggest fear - coming back from a hike and finding my truck locked in!