Baby shower surprise

in #nature5 months ago (edited)

I've been to two baby showers in my life. One was my sister in law years ago who was then pregnant with her first...a niece to me. Today, I went to that niece's first baby baby shower. I was a little unsure what to expect, but it was nice. Got to see family, a few games, great barbeque which always helps any occasion.

But, that wasn't the surprise. The surprise came afterward. My wife and I decided to take a little bike ride. The shower was held at a preserve so there were quite a few dirt/gravel trails around.

I was gliding along quickly when I noticed this fellow laying across the trail.

snakeinroad.jpg

Zoomed in and screenshot...

snake1.jpg

I estimated the snake to be over 5 feet, maybe not 6. It was thicker than my arms for sure, almost as thick as my calf. I estimated it had 12 rattles, and after zooming in on a photo I took, I counted 11 and a "button" the last tip of the rattles.

rattles.jpg

Below is it's tracks after it'd passed into the bushes.

tracks.jpg

And the funny part is the "tracks" that I left...the skid marks I left in the trail from when I jammed on the brakes so fast when I first saw it. Talk about waking you up! The pulse rate does a jump when you come across something like that.

brakes.jpg

A video of the big snake is at https://photos.app.goo.gl/q4ftvEaU5KHg9t2RA

The other "funny" thing was that once you see a snake, especially a monster, EVERYTHING starts looking like snakes. Every root in the trail afterward seemed like a snake. In fact, I did see a regular (small) black snake scurry along the trail just a few minutes later. And then...

I stopped to get a sip of water from the water cooler. It was those little paper cups, when I raised the heavy trash can lid to toss it away, I kid you not, there was another snake coiled up inside the trash container! Instinctively, I dropped the lid with a slam. He scared me to death and I'm sure I scared him as well because he disappeared to somewhere. I'm not even sure if my wife believed me. It was just a harmless snake of some sort (gray in color), but again, when snakes are on the mind, a snake is a snake.

Anyway, after that, I was ready to head out of there. I'll remember that baby shower.


crrdlx-8bit-white-bg-60.jpg
I go by @crrdlx or "CR" for short. See all my links or contact info at https://linktr.ee/crrdlx.

Sort:  

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@thehockeyfan-at(2/5) tipped @crrdlx

It is true that this time is very special and joyful for parents especially when the first child is born.