Swimming with cacti!

in #nature6 years ago

Hi, today I wanted to share with who's ever interested how I like to give my cacti a swim at least once a year.
20171228_130218.jpg
In the tub I make a mix of 1 cap of 'Gogo juice' and 3/4 of a cap of "PowerFeed plant food" into about 30L of water. I like the PowerFeed (Red) by season as the mix is N:P 10:2:1 nitrogen being a cacti's favourite element.
1514429568863717796811.jpg
You can tell when a cactus is nitrogen deficient when it starts to lose its green colour and begins to turn yellow. Sunburn can also do this though so make note if it's just the side that faces the sun if so it's probably just sunburnt.

I use GoGo juice because it creates a healthy microbe environment in the soil, the better microbe environment, the better the roots do their job...sucking that fishy seaweedy bonemeal I just soaked them in out from the soil, Yum right!

I like to do this at least once to prepare for the hotter months because they're soaked rather than just top fed the soal and even the roots get a good soaking and I ALWAYS see amazing results afterwards.

1514429006829787620991.jpg
I hope my post was valuable in some way, I will be uploading more about cacti and my collection. I will also be posting about my glass blowing and my attempt to make a living from it.
Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Wow cactus growing and glass blowing, you have quite the diverse set of interests! This was a great post, was interesting to get a little insider look at how cacti are grown! I look forward to your future posts! Welcome to Steemit!

Ahah I am a man of many interests. Thank you for being so generous, it's really motivational. I have thousands of cacti to share so plenty of photos to come ahaha

Congratulations @cryptocereus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice cactus. That aussie climate nothing better.

thanks for the tip!
would you please include one pic with a paper that says Steemit + your date + your name ? just to make sure its really yours

Cool stuff!
Resteemed, upvoted & followed you @cryptocereus!
Thanks for availing the 3 in 1 FREE Giveaway Package!

nice photos @cryptocereus
thank you for sharing

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptocereus to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Good idea! Beautiful and healthy cacti I expect more pictures