Daily Nature Fix: Jon Snow's Sex Cave! (Original Photos)

in #nature7 years ago

   Any Game of Thrones fans out in the Steemit world???  You may recognize this cave:

   It's Jon Snow and Ygritte's sex cave!  It is the cave Grjótagjá in northern Iceland.  There are a few reasons why I chose it to be the DNF theme today.  One, because Game of Thrones premieres tonight.  Two, because we just got back from our trip to Iceland and I have a TON of stuff I'm excited to share.  And three,  because it's incredible!  "You know nothing, Jon Snow."


^^^Kylene checking things out.  Blue Water!  One of my favorite things in life.

   Grjótagjá is a hot spring within a cave that was a really popular bathing spot for locals before the 1970's, until an earthquake struck the area and the water heated up beyond safe temperatures.  Today, the water is around 130°F and the public is forbidden from bathing.... but that didn't stop a few twats from climbing in while we were there.  I hate when stupid tourists don't respect a hosting country's rules, no matter how inviting the water looks or how cool they think it'd be.


^^^Facing the rocky climb back out of the cave.

   Anyway, back to the GoT stuff.  If you are a fan of the show and DIDN'T recognize the place, thats because it was a bit of a trick question. I didn't even know it was used on the show until that evening back at our B&B. It looked familiar while we were there, but that night we re-watched the sex scene and realized there was no way it was the same place.  Turns out, the interior of the cave was built on a soundstage in Ireland or something.  The exterior of the cave, however, was used.  Although it was winter in the show, what was used on screen was something more like this:


^^^The entrance.

    Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you tomorrow.  - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

Beautiful

It was! Wish photos would do it justice...

Niice feed @customnature

Much obliged, @upbuzz!

I will be happy to do a friendship with your steemit profile @customnature 😀😀

Looks really nice! Can't wait for the premier.. still trying to figure out how to watch it in my hotel since I'm on my holiday in Thailand..

Ahh, i'm in the same boat. I'm going to have to watch it after it aires... need to figure out when and how. I just watched the whole series a month or two ago.

I was thinking of rewatching it from the beginning but i couldn't really find time for it. I guess I might do after the new season. :)

really cool place to be

It was awesome. The steamy heat in the air and the slight volcanic sulfur smell in the air is something I wish everyone could experience as well.

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

I was there about 10 months ago. It was a mystical place.

Nice informative article...good to learn something new today...

Please Upvote my post https://steemit.com/funny/@ebugreat/question-of-the-day