Daily Nature Fix: Mountains into the Clouds. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

I'm a big fan of mountains. I was born and raised among the eastern most edge of the Appalachian mountain range; the oldest ones in the United States. Being so old, they've been worn down by weather and erosion much longer than the dramatic Rockies, out west. For example, the tallest mountain in Pennsylvania (where I live) is around 3,000ish feet tall... while many mountains in the Rockies exceed the 14,000 feet mark. That being said, our local mountains don't often reach up into the cloud layer... so I do get excited to see such a sight on our travels. Sometimes, ya gotta appreciate little things like that, ya know?

MtnClouds00a.jpg
^^^This may not be the most clouds-y of the group, but I like this photo the most so I'm putting it first. This was taken in the Yukon Territory around three weeks ago. The lake is supposedly "the most photographed lake in the Yukon" and it's called Emerald Lake. In the right conditions, it has brilliant green water.

MtnClouds00b.jpg
^^^These cloudy peaks were spotted on our drive out of Skagway, Alaska. It actually wound up being a beautiful, clear day but there was a cloud cover earlier in the morning. It made for a affect in the mountains.

MtnClouds00e.jpg
^^^Though there was a bit of smoke/steam coming from the tip of the Arenal Volcano when we there, I assure you everything in this photo was only clouds. The local Costa Ricans told us that the whole mountain is rarely seen in it's entirety due to the cloud conditions of the tropics.

MtnClouds00c.jpg
^^^This photo was snapped out of the car window while driving along the southern coast of Iceland. The black volcanic mountains and cliffs contrast the white clouds and fog in especially dramatic ways. The green moss adds a nice accent color as well, no?

MtnClouds00d.jpg
^^^We'll end this with this panorama, also from Iceland. This was last summer in the southeastern part of the country, just outside the small town of Hofn. A panorama with my iPhone was the only way to get the cool mountains, clouds, house and bit of sea into the shot.


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Upvoted!
I hope oneday I will back to the nature..

Awesome mountain shots, Adam. My favs are the first and last photo.
I don’t know if you are interested but a lot of us from here are also on WEKU. My referral is https://deals.weku.io/pick_account?referral=redheadpei if u want to check it out.

Before I dive into something new, what is it? Give me the footnotes version. lol

Sorry for so late a reply, Adam. I was away and didn’t take my iPad. Weku is similar to Steemit in format. WeKu's mission is to create a new, fully decentralized generation of social open platforms based on blockchain technology.
Weku digital dollars are not worth anything yet but that could change down the road.

Beautiful photos. Thanks for your awesome article! 😎

Thanks for taking the time to check it out! 🙏

If there are many clouds the first and the last are my favorites.
In the last one you see very dense clouds, the mountain is higher? because you can not see and it seems that the clouds cut the mountain.
And in the background the house is an incredible landscape, it is very cold there?

I don't think the last one is higher, but it's RIGHT next to the ocean, which I think causes a lot of clouds and weather changes. It wouldn't say it's very cold, but more just "cool". Iceland's winters seem to be about as cold as ours in northeast United States... but their summers are cooler than ours.

Interesting, it hurts that I only know the heat and from time to time the rain, in the plains of Venezuela it is very hot.

I would love someday to know the snow or at least a cooler climate than I am used to.

I watch Unplugged Nation on Lifetime Channel. It is unplugging from the hectic world :) Great photos I love mountains too.

Hmmmm never heard of it. I'll have to check it out!

love the fog...

Thanks! I have quite a few photos that could fit this theme... I'll have to do a second round in the future.

Mountains are so magical :)

Just thinking about the mountains and looking at your photos make me have chills on my skin :)

A could things in nature do that to me. Beautiful blue water is a big one.

What a beautiful place! Must be really nice to enjoy nature and clean air over there.

For sure! Especially as we headed into the Alaskan outback a bit more.

At least we have you to show us these beauties created by nature!