Fierce Dog Breed: The Caucasian Ovcharka

in #nature7 years ago

(Image source)

Now this the type of dog I would like to own but I need to have a large enclosed property for it to happily roam about and a big daily budget to feed it.

The Caucasian Shepherd or Caucasian Ovcharka is a fierce Russian dog breed. It is a large, even-tempered dog with a strong and muscular body, bear-like face, round-shaped cropped ears and long tail.

It has a thick and water resistant double coat in shades of gray, yellow, rust, red or white. The coat may be longer or shorter depending on the region where the dog comes from.

This dog breed is a popular working and guard dog throughout Europe and the Central Asian republics. They call it Caucasian Shepherd in Europe and Caucasian Mountain Dog in the U.S. In Russia its usual name is Caucasian Ovcharka which means "sheepdog" in Russian.

Used for centuries to guard domestic animals, kill wolves, hunt bears and protect properties against bad people and thieves, the Caucasian Ovcharka is one of the oldest mastiff-type breeds, originating from the Caucasus Mountains between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea.

The Caucasian dog is suspicious and aggressive towards any strangers. If not properly trained and socialized at a very early age. This tough dog may demonstrate fierce and uncontrollable reactions. On the other hand, this Russian dog can be deeply loyal to its owner and will stand by and defend him to the death in any situation.

The Caucasian Ovcharka can live as long as 12 years with just a few health risks, though sometimes it may suffer from large dog problems like hip dysplasia and heart conditions. Its heavy shedding coat needs the occasional brushing.

Owning this dog isn't easy like other dog breeds. This independent and strong-willed dog will obey only a dominating and strong-willed owner whom it respects. Obedience training and early socialization is a must for this breed. It mostly suits active singles, experienced dog handlers as well as farmers and ranchers.

Youtube video uploaded by Strong Dogs Elite





Sources: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CaucasianShepherdDog
http://www.russiandog.net/caucasian-dog.html


Grow, grow, grow your Vote, Quickly with the Steem. Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily, To be a Whale is just our Dream.

Sort:  

Great looking dogs, but they must eat a ton! Lol. My German Shepherd eats enough, but I bet these dogs could eat more than double what he does. :) Never heard of this dog breed until now. Great post!

Resteeming this to 13,000+ followers.

Thank you, ma'am. You are the best!

I dream of having a German Shepherd someday! They're so beautiful and intelligent. This Ovcharka, although impressive and looking a lot like a teddy-bear, is more dog than I could handle. Hopefully when I have some land though, I'll have a German Shepherd.

so cute~

So so sweet.

These dogs are beasts!

It looks cute but owning it might be challenging.

Yes, you have to be an experienced dog owner in order to handle it.

Impressive dog and probably a great companion and helper for the right type of person and situation. They look so cuddly, it's hard to believe they are so fierce, but I wouldn't want to test that out--lol!

This post have been Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Follow, Upvote , Reblogged , Comment us when ever you can.
This message come up when you use #whalepower Tag.
@bullionstackers @paul-gillbanks Curator for #whalepower Tag
#whalepower Tag - Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog - Please Click to Read

my family has been in the dog industry for over 50 years, this breed is a awesome breed, you should look up the Commador, great dog, i have 1 myself.139.jpg

Great! Looks like a big poodle!

yea thats when he is shaved down, usually they have dreads and cords

thanks for share

@darthnava,
Nice article and yeah owning them means eating money lol :D One of my friend has that kind of dog and he gifted that dog to someone else :D Answer is "No way to feed him..." Now he has a local dog :D
Nice article and thanks for sharing those useful information!

Cheers~

Yeah, gotta be rich owning one. I'll just settle for a German Shepherd or husky.

Tuff cookie. But cute.

I heard about this dog, I don't think they are that violent unless you train them to be

Yes, I think so too. A loving master reflects on its dog.

it sure does, I notice dog especially the loyal one take on the personality of their master.

I'm guess this is as a result of an empathic bond a master have with an animal

Most of the so-called "tough" breeds are pussycats IMO, if you know how to train them. Most of the sweetest dogs I've met have been guarding or ex-fighting breeds. It's all about the owner and careful breeding. I wouldn't have a dog like that because there's just no way I have the expertise to train it properly, but they are truly beautiful. It's like a big fluffy polar bear and a wolf had a lovechild.

Yes, you are right! Thanks for the great comment.

They are beautiful - just have to raise them right

Yes, a good dog owner can make them sociable.

They look like Lions!

I had this type of dog. He died when he was 16. Exceptional dog! Very loyal and very smart!

16? He lived that long?

Great dog, but definitely not a dog for most people. Breeds like these need experienced owners.
Blessings to you!!

Thank you!

Very pretty dogs. Bet they would make great loyal guard dogs.

My husband's parents also had such a dog. Very clever and a good defender if you have been training her since childhood. Unfortunately, she died of heart disease to which this breed is susceptible.

I'm sorry. She must have been a great dog.

Yes it's true, thank you! If you choose this breed of dogs then she or he will become for you a true friend and a good guard for your home. Wish you luck!

That a great dog, I wish I can have one like this. I wonder if it can sherpard my animals or it's training is not up to that skill. I really love it.

Yes, I want one too when I'm rich. :D

Uggh! Ang cute eh!! Just want to hug him and sleep in his chest.

That's possible if you can socialize it early as a puppy.

it's melting my heart, too cute not to cuddle

What a beautiful dog I want one

Me too!

Like a small lion!😁 The biggest dog I've seen so far is the Alaskan Malamute! Is this bigger?

Maybe this dog is heavier than the Alaskan Malamute.

A good breed of dogs. I had a Caucasian shepherd. We called him Mishka, which means a bear. He really looked like a bear. He has a very large body and a long coat. If properly brought up such a dog, then she will be a good guard!

Then you are a lucky dog owner!

Hey man, you do not need to transfer 2SBD to randowhale as it was now offering promotion, you just need to send 1SBD only!
Refer here : https://steemit.com/steemit/@randowhale/randowhale-is-now-only-1-steem-sbd-per-vote-spread-the-news
Upvote me or send me some little tips if you like my remind!

Thanks, I wasn't reading the updates.

I used to have a dog almost like that, Middle eastern shepherd dog, they are a bit smaller but smarter. 2 of those dogs could kill a bear! Can't look seriously at the dogs of smaller size anymore :) Where in the Philippines do you live? I inhabit not far, in Thailand, but always wanted to go to Boracay, check the volcanoes! Upvoted and followed, cheers, mate!

I live in the northern part of the southern island of Mindanao. Our local dogs are of the Askal breed. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Askal

This post received a 4.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @darthnava! For more information, click here!

This post has received a 4.91 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @darthnava.