You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elder Flowers - How To Identify Wild Elderberry Shrubs - with tips on harvesting and storing their flowers

in #nature7 years ago

We have a number of elderberry bushes in the back yard... "bushes" is a bit of an understatement, I suppose... they're up to about 15 feet and some of the branches exceed 3" now. Haven't ever done much with the flowers-- but grew up with juice made from the ripe berries-- my auntie was the more or less the family's "Elderberry Wine Queen." Unfortunately, we don't end up with a lot of berries as large flocks of starlings tend to make short work of them.

Sort:  

Wow! Those are some good-sized elderberry bushes! I'm glad you enjoyed the berries. The flowers have a completely different flavor, and are a lot less messy, lol! And they taste so pleasant! They make great tea, fresh or dried. I better make a post about that! :D If you try your elder flowers, I'd like to know how you like them!