You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: F

in #nature5 years ago

This has always fascinated me, the pull that instinct has! One has to wonder how we skipped out on that. ;)

I would actually love to see this and look forward to when I can. Although it would be a little disheartening to see the ones that didn't make it, I marvel at the ones that have the strength and tenacity to overcome all the obstacles - just to reach the beloved breeding grounds.

Wow. Right?

I watch at how difficult this task really is and I cannot believe I have never really seen how hard it is, most pictures show them off as looking pretty confident they'll make it.

Thanks for the awesome piece and it certainly needs me to take it home!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Sort:  

I don't know how far south they run on the atlantic seaboard, maybe some rivers in Maine and perhaps Virginia. They are all over the great lakes.

They really do struggle and I also thought a lot more make it. Also when they make it, it's usually not sp obvious. People filming the spectacular jumps are either getting ome in a thousand or looking for a smaller wider jump and filming the best angles. From the fish's point of view, there is no reason to jump higher than necessary since there are a lot of jumps and a few hundred feet to climb in total.