You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our FAVORITE Mushroom: Lion's Mane (with wild harvest video!)

in #nature7 years ago

Nice foraging in looking up high for those arboreal mushrooms! I've climbed trees for Oyster mushrooms, but all the Lion's Mane that I've found have been within reach from the ground. Maybe I've missed some by not looking up high enough!

I'm with you about the tastiness of the Lion's Mane. I like that they can come back in the same spot year after year, too. Good luck with your cloning project, too.

Sort:  

Thank you! We aren't seeing any mycelium growth yet but still kinda hopeful given the rudenmentary methods we were using. Hoping to gwt a little lab set up next year so we can come and cultivate some of these great wild specimens we find. Lions mane is so yummy! Have you had it prepared many ways?

I've been happy with a simple sautee. I'm a 'simpler is better' kind of cook, lol. And I don't like to swamp out the flavor of mushrooms. I have found Lion's Manes in Oregon, Arkansas, and Michigan. And they always give me a big smile. And I gave my dad a grow-your-own kit that was pretty successful, too. Here's to next year's harvest and the success of your totem system, too!

Thanks!! Before we started cultivating them we were a simple sautee mind frame as well and when we have it in limited quantity that's the way t we roll (and in my opinion the best way to eat lion's mane!) But when you've got 5+ lbs in a week you're trying to consume you start to get creative. lol I LOVE mushrooms simply sauteed but I also love the versatility of mushrooms. We eat a lot of mushrooms so I find it fun to play in the kitchen after we've had our feel of straight up shrooms. Do they taste any different on the west coast as the do on east side? We are thinking of eventually making some of those kits to sell after the lab is setup! We already sell oyster logs but would love to have some kits to offer to people with the wild productive strains we find.

I couldn't tell any difference in taste from any of Lion's Manes I've eaten from different sources. Good luck with your kits! They are a common and popular item here in Oregon at farmer's markets and the Christmas fairs.