Ozark Mushrooms - Wood Ears

in #nature7 years ago

SAM_3328.JPG


I love finding these guys. They're one of the few mushrooms I can readily identify. They're also edible! I have never had them but have heard of people putting them in egg-drop soup. Apparently they have a popping, crunchy texture when bitten.


Normally they feel rubbery. Almost gross.


SAM_3321.JPG


SAM_3322.JPG


SAM_3326.JPG


SAM_3332.JPG


SAM_3333.JPG


SAM_3334.JPG


I hope you enjoyed this foray into the woods with me. These were all seen on a walk with @jakeimnotshure at Bacher's Access. Thanks for looking and stay tuned!

Sort:  

It's a type of Auricularia. It's actually the most common edible fungi in the Atlantic rainforest of Rio de Janeiro and I've eaten plenty of it. Being from Europe I'm a bit snobby about it in truth and feel that comparatively it's quite sub-par and uninteresting relative to what is normally on offer in Ireland/Britain/France (other places I've eaten shrooms). However it's quite nice for making a risotto, or using in place of crispy bacon in some recipes (fry with salt and olive oil till crisp!). It's best to dry and then use as the flavour intensifies as compared to fresh examples.

Great post. I love this mushroom. I really miss them. They are sweat and crunchy. They are cow meat for vegetarians.
Resteem @ SBD 0.001 by @jossylink

Very nice collection of pics.Enjoyed the foray greatly Thank you Love always

Thank you, @abbijulie! Love to you both!

They actually look rubbery!
I am going to start calling you the _mushroom lady"! You always have the most unique 'shrooms to share!

Haha! Thanks, @goldendawne! I appreciate that. :)

If you slice them really thin, into strips, folks don't seem to have as much problem with their texture. They seem like the thin strips of mushrooms you get in sweet and sour soup or egg drop soup at a chinese restaurant. I like them a lot! They aren't the most flavorful of mushrooms, but they do add a nice texture in those thin strips. You've got a nice supply of them there! :D

Those are some good Wood Ears there! Auricularia auricula-judae. If you don't like its texture, you can dehydrate it and grind it up for adding to soup! :D