Growing Avacado from seed

in #nature4 years ago

A few months ago my brother brought a Avacado from the market. He made a shake out of it and I had my eye on the big round seed.

I took the seed and tried to propagate it.

I read a few posts about the climate and soil it needs and then I watched a few videos about how to grow an Avacado tree using its seed.

IMG_20200704_225415.jpg

I took a grow bag and filled it with some coco peat, soil and a little bit of high quality vermi-compost.

I placed the seed about an inch into the soil and left it for a few weeks. I did water it occasionally and the seed started to sprout.

It was an amazing sight to see a big seed sprouting and within a few days it stood more than a feet tall.

I moved it into a 18 inch pot and it is growing slowly.

I heard that it takes about 5-6 or more years for the tree to reach maturity and give fruits.

I'll be patient and hope I'll get some Avacado.