Noccalula Falls in the middle of Gadsden, Alabama

in #nature7 years ago

Most waterfalls my wife, @vsoutdoorsnaps, takes me to is off the beaten path. There are several miles of variable trails between the parking lot and the waterfall. This is not the case in Gadsden, Alabama. At Noccolula Falls, the parking lot is 90 ft from the 90 ft waterfall. We did find a trail to the bottom which was just a short technical climb down but there was a children's train, mini-golf, and petting zoo at the top of the gorge to attract tourists.

Here is a picture from the bottom

IMG_1552.JPG

The creek continues down the gorge, there are several smaller cascades as well as some very well fed ducks....
IMG_1553.JPG
WELL FED DUCKS
IMG_1557.JPG
We didn't have any food, but they wouldn't leave
IMG_1555.JPG

The coolest part of this waterfall was the ability to hike behind and under it:

IMG_1558.JPG
IMG_1562.JPG
The lighting was difficult because it was so dark behind the falls, but the brightest part of the day just 50 ft ahead.
IMG_1565-1.JPG

I would recommend Noccalula to anyone because you dont have to go to the bottom. There are many overlooks that are great for looking down into the gorge. Its located about half way between Birmingham, AL and Chattanooga, TN. There are restaurants, camping, wedding chapel, parks, as well as petting zoo, train, and mini-golf so it offers fun for many types of people.

Adventurers can hike down the gorge and look up like we did.

Thanks to all my followers and upvoters. Your support is appreciated more than you know.

Enjoy the summer!

Sort:  

Great trip

Thats awesome ! I also live in Alabama close to there

please follow me.

Great post. I will have to get up there and take a hike. It is so close to me but I have never gone to see it.