Weekly Fishing Adventures (July 23 - July 29)

in #nature6 years ago

Rain and work prevented me from fishing Monday-Thursday, however I was able to get an awesome video of me feeding the bass in my moms pond. I've been feeding them regularly for a couple months now and its at the point where they follow me around the pond and eat from my hand! There's approximately 20 bass that come to eat from my hand and they range from 1-2lbs. I usually feed them earthworms that I dig up, but ill also catch sunfish and creek chubs to feed them on occasion.

7/27/2018

Friday night was my first fishing session of the week and I headed to the Shenandoah River in search for some more Muskie! The river was rather stained and about a foot higher than usual due to the recent rainfall. I got to my spot and started off throwing a Mepps Muskie Killer Bucktail Spinner. On my fifth cast, a massive Muskie followed the lure to my feet where it destroyed the bait. It started racing through the river and peeling drag off of my reel. It was easily over 40 inches long and likely my new personal best Muskie. After about a three minute fight, the fish went airborne, shook it's head violently and sent my lure flying through the air. I was extremely disappointed, yet optimistic since I had only been fishing for a couple minutes.

About an hour later and after switching back forth between various Muskie baits, I hooked into my next fish. It also came on the Mepps Muskie Killer and right when it hit, I new it was a nice fish. Within a couple of minutes I had the fish in my net, it weighed 17 pounds and was 38 inches long! This fish was tagged by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries and I will receive a $20 reward for sending the tag into the Departments office. Here's a picture of the beast that I released back into the waters.
IMG_3605.jpg

7/29/2018

On Sunday, I went tubing down the South Fork of the Shenandoah River with some family members. I brought with me a ultra light telescopic rod along with a few baits. We used Front Royal canoe and chose to float for 3 miles. I started off fishing with two trout magnets tied onto my line and I was catching sunfish after sunfish. I switched to a 5" green Senko worm about halfway through the trip and managed one decent Smallmouth at about 13 inches. Overall it was a beautiful day on the river and I ended up catching 29 Redbreast Sunfish, 2 Bluegill and 3 Smallmouth Bass.

Hopefully I'll be able to get some more fishing in this upcoming week, thanks for reading!