Scenes from my afternoon walk today

in #nature5 years ago

In my continuing efforts to satisfy the Medical Aid deity, I look for pleasant ways to get my ten thousand minimum steps, and our little suburb is simply a beautiful place to do this. The late afternoon sun was looking particularly golden on the late summer trees, so I thought I'd do a tour, see how Herbert's doing, and see if the bunnies were in.

Join me on my walk as I take you on a counterclockwise 3km journey.

From the top - mystery flowers

My attention was caught by the shape of these flowers. I hadn't noticed them growing by the side of the spruit before. I'll have to take the PlantSnap bull by the horns and figure out what it is.

2019-03-26 17.21.26.jpg

Herbert

All staked out and doing well in his new home, Herbert was resplendent in the afternoon sunshine.

2019-03-26 17.23.36.jpg

I could swear he's already taller.

2019-03-26 17.23.50.jpg

2019-03-26 17.24.04.jpg

Herbert's mature combretum relative across the spruit is watching over him.

2019-03-26 17.24.21.jpg

I'm a sucker for a beautiful tree

Here's another beauty. I loved how the sun highlighted the berries on this, er, tree (I have no idea what it is).

2019-03-26 17.26.34.jpg

It looked like there were only berries where there was sun.

At this point I was wondering if I'd see the resident hoepoe

But alas, he wasn't hanging around this stretch.

I've loved and wanted to see hoepoes ever since I was a kid and had read the enormous hardcover "Birds of the World" book which weighed heavily on our library shelves. Hoepoes, secretary birds and shoebill storks were my birdie bucket list. Two out of three so far - no prizes for guessing which one I have yet to see in the wild.

Back to the walk

I thought I'd head down "bunny alley", as the resident bunnies like to escape their fenced in area and forage nearby during late afternoons.

No bunnies outside, but a treat in store

Oh look! A hoepoe!! He was happily poking around for insects in the newly mown grass, and as I approached he did that weird things birds seem to think is smart - he flew away from me by flying down the path I was walking on, guaranteeing I'd disturb him again. This was as close as he'd let me get, so it's a really bad 8x zoom photo.

2019-03-26 17.33.21.jpg

Here's a crop of that photo to give you a (marginally) better view of his gorgeous colouring, splendid beak and majestic crest.

2019-03-26 17.33.15 cropped.jpg

Ah well, better you see one for yourself.

Getting close to the bunnies

Why have I been rabbiting on about bunnies?

Because for some reason we have yet to fathom, the plot next to our local firestation hosts a full complement of enormous goats, geese - and bunnies. Lots of bunnies. Of course, if you have bunnies, by tomorrow you'll have more bunnies. That's the nature of bunnies.

2019-03-26 17.35.38.jpg
Here be bunnies

Unfortunately, it seems like one of the bunnies had joined the fabled Norwegian Blue.

(Trigger alert for people who struggle to look at dead things)

2019-03-26 17.35.20.jpg
Apologies to the squeamish

This bunny had quite spectacular markings, as far as I could make out. Look at that lovely stripe on his nose.

Moving on....

I hung a left off the main road to take the path which follows the river. There I was treated to the spectacular mix of afternoon sunlight on leaves framing a quintessential Joburg cloud.

2019-03-26 17.39.33 enhanced.jpg

Coupled with the lingering smell of mown grass, the sight of that cloud over the sunlight trees made me pause to breathe a huge sigh of satisfaction and gratitude.

When a gaggle of giggling children ran past me being dragged by tiny fluffy white dogs on leads, I had to reflect that maybe despite our country's idiotic political situation the people might just be getting it right. The kids were each grinning from ear to ear and breathlessly yelled hi at me as their miniature canines, racing on four inch legs, pulled them past me at top speed.

Home stretch

I'd seen some particularly beautiful flowers in a streetside flowerbed a couple of days ago, so thought I'd pay them homage. Here's a selection for you. Don't they look creamy enough to eat?

2019-03-26 17.47.20.jpg

2019-03-26 17.47.30.jpg

2019-03-26 17.47.36.jpg

The last one looked like it was channelling the sun just because it could.

2019-03-26 17.47.48.jpg

Here endeth the perambulation

Hope you enjoyed my little walk as much as I did. Thanks for keeping me company on the way! And the Deity will get his pound of flesh - I'll get my ten thousand steps tonight, so all is well in Whoville.

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Good luck with stepping it out daily, at least you are out in nature watching Herbert grow. Flowers in the garden have lovely colours and look healthy.

Bubbling clouds in the highveld sky always a delight to see at the end of the day, should hang around a bit later for sunset, some painted sky shots.

Hi, @joanstewart, I really do enjoy those walks and go out as often as I can. Herbert should be pretty happy today as he's had a couple of good drenching rains. We do indeed have some spectacular sunsets here - another reason (besides temperature) to enjoy going out at the end of the day.