Australian Natives

in #nature6 years ago

DSC_0146.jpg

Australia's beloved Kookaburra.

Growing up surrounded by bushland with a nature reserve behind my mothers place we had many kookaburra's who took up residence in our backyard.

The kookaburra is the largest member of the kingfisher family with an average beak length of 10cm and an average height of 42cm.

The kookaburra is well known for its laugh or song which resembles the sound of human laughter. Though we associate laughter as being joyous, the Kookaburras's laugh is used to ward off other birds who may be threatening the kookaburra's territory.

On the rare occasion I've witnessed a kookaburra eat a small blue tongue lizard and even a baby brown snake from our garden. I was relieved to see the snake go. My cat had been playing with the snake earlier and though it seemed it hadn't bitten her I didn't want it hanging around for her to find again. The kookaburra has been known to eat other small birds but will mainly consume small insects, amphibians and mice. These guys are brave enough to steal a snag off the BBQ if left unattended so keep an eye your lunch or you'll be sharing.

I took this picture when on one of our morning walks up Mount Tomaree in Port Stephens NSW

Peace :)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-02T08:45:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Pretty nice 😊👍

Thank you bigotemafriend 😊

Very welcome 😊

Oh Krystal he is absolutely STUNNING😍 what a fabulous photo of a dear delightful bird. Wow! Thanks you so much for this. I never saw one close up like this so a real treat, upvoted and resteemed. 🌈🌴🦋💛upvoted and resteemed❤️

Thank you Sally I’m really pleased you enjoyed. Kookaburra’s are so common where we live and I think I often take the creatures around me for granted because I see them all the time. I forget there are quite unique. 🧡😊 Thank you for sharing it’s much appreciated! 🤙🏼

Upvote me please :)

I like the photo very much, receive my greeting with affection

Beautiful photo,
I liked it a lot. Receive
My Regards greetings

                 - reciclajeymas


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Stunning photo. I've only ever seen these birds on TV documentaries. He is quite a handsome fella. Very informative post.

Thank you 😊 @katdvine I often forget how beautiful or interesting some of our wildlife is here in Australia. I’m glad I could share with you.

Hello @krystalfinnigan,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Awesome Animals".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-90th-edition-awesome-animals

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Thats fantastic! Thank you photocircle 😄