Finding and Appreciating Beauty Amidst an Invasion of Dust

in #nature4 years ago

Sunsets In The Backyard

DJI_0347.jpg

I live in the countryside where it is quiet and life and relaxing most of the time. The sunsets on evenings that can be seen in my back yard are breathtaking. The colours are different every time and I decided to send up the drone to see what nice views I could get this time. There was a high concentration of Sahara dust in the atmosphere that day to the point where the blue sky could not be seen! Keep in mind this has never happened in my country before which is situated off of the coast of Venezuela and basically west of the African continent. I thought it would interesting to see how it would affect the sunset!

DJI_0125.jpg

Needless to say though, particles in the atmosphere greatly affects the clarity and quality of photos. Another determining factor was that there was a bush fire nearby in the shots that added to the haziness of the air. The view was somehow amazing nonetheless, being able to see the beautiful sprawling countryside with its lush green undulating hills and agricultural land.

DJI_0126.jpg

I managed to get some shots later on after the bush fire died out which is the first picture of at the top of the article but you can see from the above picture how much the smoke affected the view. I must say though that the the sunset was a bit lack luster because of the Sahara dust. Normally as the sun gets lower, the sunset gets better but this time, because of the dust in the atmosphere, the sun just faded to obscurity and the sky was just a weird sickly white.

I was doing a time lapse of the whole thing but because of how everything turned out, I really only managed to capture how the bush fires died down over time. Well I guess the view was still beautiful before the sun got closer to the horizon and I really appreciate that but I was a little sad that my plan to make a cool time lapse was thwarted by some weather phenomenon involving a dessert that is literally thousands of miles away in a country I have never been to before. It is kind of amazing when you think about it.