Birds of my garden #5 Willie wagtail

in #nature6 years ago

After the practically viral success of my bird photo yesterday (4 upvotes and a comment woot woot) I've decided to post another one today.
Todays bird is the willie wagtail (Rhipidura leucophrys). A charming little bird that flits from spot to spot picking insects out of the air and which loves to follow me around when I'm mowing the lawn.
You may notice that the bird featured in these photos looks somewhat dishevelled and rough around the edges. The truth is one of my cats caught him about six months ago. I managed to rescue him in time to prevent any injury beyond a few lost feathers but he must have been shaken up pretty badly because he sat on my hand for a full five minutes before eventually flying off. Hopefully he's learned an important lesson about avoiding cats and whilst his health appears fine now he just isn't as photogenic as he used to be.
Thanks for looking, if you like these photos please consider an upvote.

willy wagtail.jpg

williewagtail2.jpg