Convenience Takes Away Adventure-Steemit's Environmental Advocacy

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Why can’t we leave islands just islands? Why can’t we leave mountains, just mountains? Why is there a need for tourism-induced infrastructure that will eventually destroy the once paradise?

The conflict between man and nature is really noticeable. I’m not saying that all men want to destroy nature either unintentionally or intentionally. There are still a few who would aim to conserve it.

This is Kalanggaman Island now located at my province in Leyte. I hope it stays this way.


1

Let me cite some examples in our country (Philippines):

This is a comparison of Boracay sland in 2003 and 2014. Notice the number of buildings for hotels and residences. These infrastructures paved its way into destroying the natural forests. The once green island became brown. Sadly, this is because of tourism development. For sure, it helped the locals gain employment but it destroyed the island in the process.
My friends who just came from a vacation said that there are trashes everywhere and it is unlike what they experienced before. There are a lot of bars and restaurants when you look left to right. The ultimate island experience is lessening drastically.


2

Siargao is branded as the surfing capital in the Philippines. Slowly, buildings such as hotels and houses are being built there due to the influx of tourists. Of course, this is business to many.
It is also starting to be destroyed due to urbanization.
This was Siargao before.


3

This is part of Siargao now. Imagine the waste generated by this community. Imagine the space they occupied that should’ve been for natural resources.


4

Change is inevitable. But sometimes, it is not for the good. Their development of the areas destroys the paradise. It disturbs the ecosystem. It obliterates real beauty. I have also read one articile about a rocky mountain being developed. Cable cars are installed which would make it like a park. I mean, c’mon why do we need to do that? Mountains are supposed to be hiked and climbed not some destination that you can just freely come and go whenever you want where you can dine conventionally.

Why do people prefer sipping margaritas on glass wines rather than drinking fresh coconut juice directly? Why do they prefer lying in bed on hotels in islands were waste can be produced than having it on a tent or a hammock? I mean, where is the fun in that?

These are my points to ponder. I know everyone is entitled to their own opinions. I’m an environmentalist and this is my statement.

footnote.png

Sort:  

Anything in excess is harmful. Urbanization is an improvement as they say. We benefit from it in most ways, like electricity and the comfort we experience compared to when people were living in caves. But too much will destroy nature and it will haunt back humans with calamities and inevitable natural disasters.
I still dream of a comfortable yet nature-friendly way of living. But I totally get your point Igee. :D

You hit it in the spot. Thanks. It was way better when people were still living in the caves, man and nature were one at that time. haha

Urbanization is inevitable. These local tourist spots need to learn about environmental conservation before it's too late. It's okay to grow tourism, benefit from it, but safe practices need to be in place before the environment is harmed.
In Apo Island (near my hometown), it's not allowed to feed the pawikan and touch them, just observe them from a distance.

Indeed. Malpractices in tourism turns local spots into "hooman wastelands." At least in your area, rules are implemented strictly. Feeding the pawikan might kill them. Touching them may cause animal stress.

my sentiments exactly. I'm cheesed of with stories I hear and articles I read about destruction of nature sadly, by humans.
Some people just can't help but only focus on tourism/ business that they unintentionally??? neglect the harm it causes our nature. They don't??? know when to stop for as long as it benefits them.
I'm definitely for Protecting the environment !
We may not restore it back to its exact original form but through ecological awareness we can prevent it from transforming to a fully devastating destruction.
I hope it won't be too late for my (future) kids to experience how I feasted my eyes on the beauty of nature.
I just hope that those with position also use their power to strictly implement change.
To more post about ecological awareness Luigi! :)

I really won't be satisfied until I see results, until I see a visible change in my naked eyes. I will continue my advocacy, I will continue my statement to what I believe is morally and ethically right for mother nature.
This savage anarchy to nature is just too much. I don't want forests, swamps and beaches be barren wastelands. We are actually feeling it, the wrath of nature.

@luigienius mankind is systematically destroying the ecosystems. Those investors that they're only thinking for their own wealth and has no care for our mother earth has a poor mindset. I love seeing the nature. You have a point Luigi (malaking check for you!)

If it is about nature, I always have a point. I just can't disseminate my beliefs effectively since I am not in the proper capability to do so nor I did not pursue my course which is a bit tragic. Investors will really think about income, revenue and profit, nothing else. Someone, a body or an individual, must stand up.

It has always been my dream to retire then go back to our province for good. However, even provinces nowadays are turned to wastes. Looking back 20 years ago, as i woke up, i can smell the morning dew as they slowly dropping the grass, birds chirping, and blue skies... what have we done to mother nature? Sad but true...urbanization has its advantages and disadvantages.. thank you for sharing @luigienius. This is a great article. Cheers my friend.

Thanks Miss. Don't lose hope. Maybe, just maybe when you retire, you will still smell the fresh blades of grass if we do something about it. If not, then you will retire to another place. Sad but true.

Let's go GREEN then... :) Thanks luigi. Cheers!