Carnivorous Plants #2: Venus Fly Trap

in #nature7 years ago

enter image description here
Image Credit

Venus Fly traps are pretty spectacular carnivorous plants because of the way they trap and digest food. They are also only naturally found in bogs in Carolina, United States of America. They are pretty hard to grow, I have tried a few times but they have always died within a year. They grow well in a moist mix of peat and river sand.

enter image description here
Image Credit

The Venus Fly Trap's leaf is designed as a trap with little trigger hairs which cause the leaves to shut when something disturbs it. The hairs are designed so that the leaf won't close unless there is a few disturbances to show that something living is moving on the leaf. The bristles on the end are called cilia and prevent insects from escaping as the leaf closes completely to prepare for digestion. The leaves also secrete a sweet goo to attract insects as prey. Once the leaves are shut they release digestive enzymes and within a few days the insect is nothing more than an empty skin that gets blown away by the wind.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Their flowers are generally white and come in a cluster on a long stalk. If the Venus fly trap is healthy, it will be able to make seeds after successful pollination. If it is unhealthy, the flowers would use a lot of the plant's energy and it may end up dying, without giving any seed.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Sort:  

Take care of your toes guys , these venus fly likes them

Good one!

now thats cool

Now that is a plant in beast mode. And she's surprisingly beautiful.

Too True!

Beautiful photos!

Thanks, you have a cool blog. I love nature as well as good photos and pictures.

Thank you very much!

That's crazy. I always knew they trapped things but never knew they actually digested them

digesting them is the reason they trap them in the first place..))

Very true, they also live in very poor soil so they get their nutrients from the things they eat.

Nice! :)

Thanks.

You're welcome

I want to eat a carnivorous plant!

I don't know how they will taste, nut if you ever do, let me know what it is like. They have been used in medicine, so they might be good.

Yes, you are right.

Weird, pretty and cool carnivore!

Never would have thought a plant organism could be classified as such........Lolz

It blew my mind when I saw how they work.

This thing is badass ahaha !
Pretty cool pictures too

I was very pleased to get my hands on these amazing and quite beautiful books! Wonderful work drosera
Carnivorous plants ..

That is pretty cool. Do you grow your own carnivorous plants? I used to grow a lot but I struggled to keep them alive for mare than a few years.

Yes I grow my self ..

What do you find is the best way to grow them?

this is Drosera binata. all it needs is a sunny window, some peat and a non-draining pot always topped off with demineralized water.

one of the easiest carnivorous plants to grow and always a great conversation starter. can get quite big and impressive, too. Join steemit chat I can tell u the process

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

These plants fascinated me as a child.. and they are pretty cool as an adult :)

They are really cool, have you ever grown any, I want to start again and do it right, but I don't know enough to do it properly.

I've always bought them.. I've never tried them from seed. But i'm sure there will be youtube videos of how to and after care

I will have a look then, thank you.

I was just thinking about carnivorous plants the other day! very cool and fascinating!

Beautiful Post. Upvoted your post. Follow me too @natashamariya Please upvote and resteem my posts. Thank You