Fireflies

in #nature7 years ago

enter image description here
Image Credit

Fireflies are beetles that have glowing abdomens and are quite spectacular to watch at night when they fly in "clouds". Many species of fireflies don't glow when they are fully grown, but all their larva glow. The glowing is caused when different chemicals in their abdomens react with oxygen. The fireflies that glow, use flashing patterns to find suitable mates. The colours that they glow in are green, yellow, orange and light red. They eat nectar and pollen when fully grown and mostly come out at night. They are found in summer because they hibernate through winter as larva and pupate in spring. They are carnivorous as larva and feed on slugs, snails and other larvae.

When I used to visit my Grandparents on their farm, we used to go catching fireflies on warm clear nights. We kept them in jars, but they never seemed to last the night and in the morning they would all be dead. A few years later we weren't able to see them as much anymore, maybe one or twice a year. Unfortunately, their numbers are also decreasing worldwide which is sad to see. I have also learned that not may people get to see them in their lifetime so it is really something to have a chance to see them.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Sort:  

What a cool post! I've only ever seen a green and yellow glow. I'd love to see the red and orange. I have noticed their numbers decreasing. Climate changes perhaps? I loved chasing after them as a child. The yard would be filled with them. It was a magical experience, and definitely one of my fonder memories. Their disappearance would be a tragedy😔.

I find insects to be so interesting, and a lot of the times even cute (I know thats weird!) I used to keep fireflies in a jar (with holes in it) as a nightlight every night, and then let them go in the morning. Great memories.

I'm a beekeeper and I swear to you I have a better relationship with these bees than I've had with some hamsters I've had as pets haha.

I was super lucky to catch my hive swarming the other day, and no stings!

https://steemit.com/nature/@drwatson/what-to-do-if-your-beehive-swarms

Beautiful post :)

Well, I feel like a hypocrite. We constantly have beetles here in Texas that drive me crazy when I am trying to sit outside at night, I've always hated the things... Now I find out that Fireflies, which I think are so cool, are actually beetles...

I need to go rethink my life now... Great post!

Beautiful ...
Thank you for sharing...

Wow! I haven't seen a firefly in quite few year. Used to love these as kids. We also used to find glow worms :)

Wow, they actually gave life to the forest. A natural beauty at night. Thanks for sharing.

OMGsh! I love this photo. Thanks for sharing! :)

I used to see them sometimes in my childhood. Can't remember the last time though. I think they are magic :)

That is pure magic. You were so lucky to grow up around that.

Lovely picture! Thanks for the post! Now I know why I only see fireflies in the rainy season around my farm house! Last month, I could counted almost twenty fireflies wandering among the tree tops.

What a Nice Photo, Good job

Seen only a couple of fireflies than I was a child. Looks like it is a time to go to the forest to find such beauty.

I remember being a kid going out hunting for these when i would visit relatives living in the south, it was always something that amazed me having been from the city as we didnt have anything but roaches running around

I love fireflies! We leave fallen deadwood on the floor of our woods so they have places to nest. We have them by the hundreds!

Wow very interesting I didn't know that about fireflies. I'm from northern California and we didn't have them there but I have always wanted to see them. Its so sad that there are not many around anymore. Its strange how thing like that just slowly disappear. I know growing up in a small town called Boonville, ca there were a lot of blue jays everywhere and now when I go back to visit you don't see any at all, so sad. Thanks for sharing.

it's beautiful
thank you for sharing

Beauty!

Wow stunning. Now that I think about it I haven't seen a firefly in years. Your name is Madiba are you from South Africa?

I've probably caught and released hundreds by now.

This is such a magical photo. I really feel like I'm in the woods, with them. As if they are beckoning me to play with fairies in the dusk of night. GOOD WORK

Cool post! Beautiful imagery! My pup was trying to catch one just the other night :D