You can never step in the same river twice (2 photos + video)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8278.JPG

I had the day off work today, and took a quick little trip with my friends @kayla.denise and @johnbutler to walk around at the river. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, but nature is my “reset button”. When I get stressed and burnt out, a little time in nature always brings me back to my senses.

IMG_8232.JPG
I wasn't feeling particularly adventurous today, as far as hiking is concerned, but Kayla shimmied right up the cliff side to sit on top of one of the bluffs!


Its not quite spring time here in the Ozarks, but we usually get heavy rains and a bit of flooding in the spring. It looks like it chose to come a bit early this year. It’s been pouring for days, but we got a little break from the rain yesterday and today. (It's raining again as I sit here and write this now.) Today, I decided to sit and just stare at the water for a moment and it reminded me of one of my favorite quotes by the Greek philosopher, Heraclitus : “No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man.” There are many different versions of this quote, and it can be interpreted literally or analogically. I thought it was fitting either way :)

We were only at the river for an hour or two, but I feel incredibly refreshed and I feel as though I have de-cluttered my mind, if only for a short while.

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

I'm from the Ozarks as well and one of my favorite things to do is enjoy the beautiful scenery we are lucky to have out here. I probably spend 80% of my time during the summer walking trails or at the river. You captured the beauty of it all very well in the two pictures and video. I especially like the picture of the person on the bluff, the angle you took really puts you there. Thanks for sharing these i really enjoyed this post.

I’m glad you to hear that someone else likes to get out and walk by the river and the trails here in the Ozarks too. We’re so lucky to be surrounded by so much awesome stuff! Glad you enjoyed my post- thank you! :)

absolutely gorgeous! i love the color the water gets when it rains like this!
nature is definitely the best reset button for me, too. glad you got to get out before the rains came again :D I spent the day outside too <3

Isn’t it so cool how the water changes throughout the seasons? :) Sounds like a lot of people got out to enjoy the nice weather and that makes me happy!!!

The hues of that river looks so lovely. It would be super cool to hike around the Ozarks someday!

We live by some of the cleanest and most beautiful rivers in the world! You should come visit someday ;)