Why cocks crow

in #nature6 years ago

This morning I was already awake by 5:30am and then the usual crowing of my neighbour cock begun. Almost like it is stalking me. I just thought I should find out why they do this. So I took to google.

images.jpeg
Image from here

I found that:

  1. They have a biological clock that makes them anticipate sunrise. Basically they have a gut feeling that the sun is about to rise and that gets them excited enough to shout "Kokrokooo".

Some cocks feel this tingle a little earlier than others and this could trigger nearby cocks to crow a bit earlier too. Much like a yawn. Lol.

2 They do this to announce their territoty. They would stand somewhere high enough, push out their chest and crow "I rule this place guys, kokrokoo". Usually cocks do this where they have lived for a while or where they hope to dominate.

I'm not sure if there are other reasons but these two were enough for me.

Sort:  

They sometime says it signify the appreciation of someone who has done you good