Original photos from today: Humpback Whales!

in #nature7 years ago

Here are some photos I took today of some Humpback Whales in Santa Cruz County, California:

whale1.jpg

I see whales pretty often, but they are usually very far out from shore. Today there were at least three whales feeding about half a mile out, which is pretty close actually.

whale2.jpg

In these photos you can see the distinctive hump.

whale3.jpg

The final shot shows the whale's fin sticking out of the ocean, with gulls hovering nearby, hoping to garner some collateral seafood.

whale4.jpg

Sort:  

Wow that is so cool! I need to move or something because I would love to see whales but never see them around cause of course I'm near Tampa..but wow. Thanks for sharing. This made my night.

Awesome, I'm really glad you enjoyed these. Seeing whales never gets old for me, and I love to share them with other people.

what a nice post this thanks for sharing

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it.

I want to thanks those who made this my most successful post, by far. Especially @oldtimer. I'm very grateful and appreciative.