Original photos from today: whales, seal, otter, and birds

in #nature7 years ago

I went and visited the Pacific shore today, here in Santa Cruz County, California.

Humpback Whales were feeding close to shore. Gulls and terns were following them to eat some fish of their own:

whale2.1.jpg

In this second photo, some spray is still in the air as mist:

whale2.2.jpg

I saw a whale lunge feed a couple times and managed a snap of one's head on the way down:

whale2.3.jpg

From the same beach, I also photographed a Harbor Seal...

seal1.jpg

...checking me out...

seal2.jpg

...and a Sea Otter swam by:

otter.jpg

Earlier, at the wharf, was this California Sea Lion:

sealion.jpg

And finally, for good measure, a Brown Pelican:

bpel1.jpg

I hope enjoy my photos from today's nature excursion.

Sort:  

wow, I just left there and never saw a whale, you are so lucky to capture these images, and I am so jealous of you , but still wanting to be a friend and now following you

You kinda have to luck out to see whales. This is a good time of year, but is special to see them come close to shore or do lunge feeding or breaching. It also helps to be actively looking for them. For years, I never saw any, now that I know what to look for, I see them several times a year.

we only saw them a few times, and mainly in Oregon

Another whale post...yay!!! I need to see these creatures in real life I tell you. These pictures are wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing. What's your favorite animal in nature to photograph?

Thanks, @topkpop, I'm glad you like these. I think shorebirds are probably my favorite to photograph, or maybe hummingbirds.

oooh hummingbirds..I love them. So rare to see for me (less rare than whales for me but still rare). Well I look forward to seeing some more hummingbird shots for sure. I do love the shorebird ones you post.

Nice, I love humpback whales. When I was visiting my daughter in Alaska we had several go right under the boat we were on. It was a great thrill! I remember seeing a few when I lived in LA.