Today's original nature photos: Muskrat, butterflies, birds

in #nature7 years ago

Well, I didn't get to see the eclipse this morning, it was too cloudy :(

But I saw quite a bit of wildlife here in Santa Cruz County, California, and got some photos.

Most unusual was this Muskrat. This species is native to certain areas of California, but not here in this region.

muskrat1.jpg

A got a couple shots of our year-round flycatcher the Black Phoebe, I guess this one likes tennis.

blph.jpg

blph2.jpg

I saw some lovely Wood Ducks, including this one.

wodu4.jpg

I found both Red Admiral, and the less common Lorquin's Admiral butterflies.

redad.jpg

lorquins2.jpg

A male Nuttall's Woodpecker was a nice find.

nuttalls.jpg

And finally, this dragonfly...perhaps a Cardinal Meadowhawk?

ode1.jpg

Not too bad a day after all.

Sort:  

All great captures. I don't think I have ever seen a Muskrat.