The Elusive Eastern Barred Bandicoot in My Backyard (endangered species)

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

I recently posted some photos of Southern Brown Banicoots, Isoodon obesulus, in my backyard. The poor quality photo below is also a bandicoot but this one is a much rarer animal. It is the Eastern Barred Bandicoot, Perameles gunnii. I've been at my current residence for some years now and only once have we had the privilege of seeing this small nocturnal marsupial (a bit smaller than a rabbit) on our property. .

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

9ef03-eastern_barred_bandicoot-perameles_gunnii-by-2015-04-13.jpg

Here are my notes from that occasion:

It was first spotted, from the lounge room window, hopping about in the the front garden. It then made it’s way up the driveway to the backyard. I grabbed the camera and we went out to have a closer look. We soon found it foraging away under the Nectarine tree. That’s when I discovered I had no memory card in the camera. I watched it for 2 or 3 minutes while someone ran back to the house for the memory card. It just stayed there going about it’s business only a couple of metres away. Of course, once the camera was set up and ready, the bandicoot’s sixth sense (camera detection and aversion) kicked in and it started getting nervous. The end result was one usable but blurry photo and one wonderfully clear recollection of the encounter.

The Eastern Barred Bandicoot is extinct in South Australia. In Victoria it is ‘critically endangered’. Here in Tasmania it has already disappeared from some areas and overall numbers have declined since the early 1990’s. Fortunately it is still common in some localities. What a privilege it was to have seen one in our own backyard.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR

Some Recent Posts You May Have Missed

Some Small but Beautiful Fungi

Steemitphotochallenge Entry : Palaeontologists Nightmare

Native Snails and Fungi

Golden Jelly Bells and Other Interesting Fungi
Sort:  

Oh wow! I am so excited for you! Thank you for sharing this experience with us! I have never before seen a bandicoot before this. It looks absolutely adorable!

Thanks. Yes it great to have them here. The more common brown bandicoots leave little holes all over the yard but that's fine with me :-)

cute critter!! aah yes the no memory card problem...lol i Did that on our canada 150 years celebration. went out and took all these great pics then i realized there was no memory card!!

Yep. I've sometime driven miles only to realise my memory card is back at home :-)

Awesome! I love nature photographing!! Following <3

Thanks very much.

What a wonderful creature. Such a fantastic backyard sighting.

Thanks. Yes I was so happy to see it. Hope I get to see another one some time.