Is Humankind Committing Suicide? | Our War With Nature Is A War Against Ourselves

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

We become the things we care for, that we invest our time in, that we love...
Because love is an act of expansion, an opening, a reaching toward.

When we love, whether plant, person, place, etc, we extend ourselves to that object, becoming more than our bodies. Our concepts of our self & our awareness grow, and we merge or connect with that object of love. In some ways we have now become that object, or in sensing our connection with it, we have a tendency to have more empathy (or we feel what they feel more easily) with the beloved.

chessearth.jpg

(source)

But what of a culture whose bottom line necessity has been made up to be survival through greed, overwork, one-up-manship & racing one another to an ethereal finish line time and time again? The finish line of monetary gain at all costs- even over the health of ourselves & our ecosystems?

What if our cultural progress is actually killing us?

Cultural champions can be holistically strong, but they can also be way out of balance: never resting, the disease of over-work constantly taking hold; raised stress levels leading to a myriad of health conditions; a perpetual valuing of doing over being. And the earth, our larger body, in the scheme of a capitalistic, racing economy where one has to grab & take before the other is able to in order to get the share, is largely leaving our literal playing field of the ground we walk on dreadfully raped & pillaged, polluted and overlooked. In a word, the playing field is disrespected. The playing field is seen as a backdrop and as the culture’s main Father God says, The earth is here to serve you, it is seen as an eternal, limitless bank account where everyone has the bank number- it’s just a matter of who gets there first.

universe-2266887_960_720.jpg

But the earth is not a limitless, eternally giving bank account for everyone to take from. The earth is a system, a living organism, a dynamic combination of finite and infinite resources playing together much in the same way our body is a largely mysterious system of interchanges amazingly keeping a healthy equilibrium. The earth is abundant, yes!

But she is also kind of like your mother, who will give you everything, but not if you disrespect her, take her diamond and gold jewelry, cut off her hair, blow smoke in her face, inject her with dangerous toxins, spill harmful substances into her mouth and other orifices, and when you say you’ll take her for a massage, lace her with life-sapping chemicals leaving her body in a state of depletion & warfare.

industry-611668_960_720.jpg

She is abundant & giving, our Great Mother, yet we must learn to work with her instead of treating her like some backdrop wishing tree that has no relationship to us beyond what we can get from her.

And this is how we slowly move forward...

We begin again to care, to see, to behave in relationship with, to love, adore, & worship, even, this being on whom we live and breathe and have our being.

Take my body broken for you, eat it in remembrance of me, the Christ says, and I wonder- Isn’t this verse also apt in relationship with our Primordial constant mother, the earth? Instead of setting our spirituality on an ethereal God of total spirit who will nourish our spirit but not our body, what if we also integrate and ground our spiritual leanings?

bread-1281053_960_720.jpg

The verse can then take on a literal meaning wherein our Great Mother says to us: take my body broken for you, eat it in remembrance of me. And, if every time we eat, plant a garden, & break bread, we see it as such a spiritual, sacred sacrifice she has made for us, giving us of her literal body so that we can continue to live. In this way she is our sustenance and the building blocks of our bodies.

Which of you can live without being a part of her in this way? Yet in remembrance, connection & union with our mother – how could we treat her with such sacrilege? With such ultimate disrespect?

earth-2841056_960_720.jpg

I don’t believe we could. But we have fostered and nurtured religions and economic and political systems where the ones who make it to the finish line, chunk of mother’s flesh in hand first, make it to the bank & so continue to contaminate and control. Wherein the god-figure is a male and tells us the earth has nothing to do with us beyond being something we subjugate and have dominion over.

nature-670025_960_720.jpg

The Great Mother, like most of our own mothers, wants to give us every good thing. But first we must treat her with respect and see her for the gift she is. Let us sing along in adoration with this “Ave” as written by Diane Di Prima,

you are the hills, the shape and color of mesa

you are the tent, the lodge of skins, the Hogan

the buffalo robes, the quilt, the knitted afghan

you are the cauldron and the evening star

you rise over the sea, you ride the dark

I move within you, light the evening fire

I dip my hand in you and eat your flesh

you are my mirror image and my sister

you disappear like smoke on mist hills

you lead me thru dream forest on horseback

large gypsy mother, I lean my head on your back

I am you
and I must become you
I have seen you
and I must become you
I am always you
I must become you

For when we become something, when we extend ourselves out to see ourselves as connected or not-that-different than something, we are not apt to treat it any differently than we would want to be treated. And over time this leads to great care & a deep, abiding cherishing.

tumblr_nsiy6m9TBq1uxuyseo1_500.jpg
(Art by Alejandra H Lauria)

"In the quiet stillness of your heart you can hear your Grandmother's voice. Listen. Her wisdom shines in the Light of the stars."

—Grace Alvarez Sesma (Yoeme/Kumiai)

All images from Pixabay unless otherwise noted.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. I realized some time ago that I am an expression of God. (I have no religion connected to the words I choose to use, they are only a reference point.) Wow! I thought that is heavy, I am an expression of God! Then I realized everyone , every creature, every thing is as well. What respect this commands from me. What honor I must have for my body, my temple. My husband and I are working towards homesteading because we know that living in accordance with nature is the right way. Its the way my papaw and granny were raised. Or at least more so than most today. What a beautiful post. Thank you and have a lovely night. -Lindsey

this comment is so good and is at the heart of what I was trying to express. thanks.

"Instead of setting our spirituality on an ethereal God of total spirit who will nourish our spirit but not our body, what if we integrate and ground our spiritual leanings?"

Why consider these to be mutually exclusive? I think it's perfectly possible to embrace both ideas. I don't worship the earth the same way I worship God, but I can still treat it with respect and reverence and appreciation.

so do i, but i think oftentimes modern christianity has trouble connecting with the earth (i know there are a lot of initiatives to shift this, but overall that is my experience).

i don't mean to offend or be mutually exclusive (added a couple alsos), just to point out this common disparity in languaging and action.

I always get annoyed by religion or spirituality, but I also get hurt from seeing the destruction an carelessness . It's just sad when people throw a truckload of trash away in nature what happens all the time in Poland.

Maybe I am reading this incorrectly but it feels like you are putting 'mother earth' in higher regard than our Lord and Father. I agree the earth needs to be respected better, you can see that when you see the litter all over the road. If people would read the bible and understand the laws none of this would happen and we would all be in a better place.

Mainly I am seeking to highlight the divorce so many people feel from having a connection or "stake" in the earth.

If people would read the bible and understand the laws none of this would happen and we would all be in a better place.

If people would respect other people and their environment as they themselvex would want to be treated, we'd be in much better shape. Depending on a book (any book) for guidance is limiting. We, as a species, need to get beyond the need to enforce rules on folks and instead support them in positive decision making.

That book may work for you, but assuming it should be a guide for everyone is overstepping. My apologies if that is offensive. It's not meant to be. It's only to say there are other valid avenues to the goals we aspire to.

thanks for addressing that @aunt-deb, i wasn't sure how to tactfully say anything. you said it all well and better than i could've and i appreciate that <3

You're welcome.

The 'if only everybody would...' perspective seems to be a popular one, but I don't see it solving any practical problems.

If people practiced "masterful stewardship" over "dominion", this problem wouldn't be a problem :)

Stewardship is it! True freedom demands a lot of responsibility and stewardship is a huge part of it! Thanks for this reminder!

Some people read the bible and actually use that text to justify their actions of dominating nature, while plenty of bible believers continue to happily participate in the culture of destruction....so while it may be possible to read the bible and come away with a respect for the Earth, you can't rely on it for that kind of guidance.

I have heard it said the orginal translation of "practice dominion" can also be translated as "practice masterful stewardship".

If this is so, then a shift from an extractive/sustainable system to a regenerative system could occur on belief in the turn of a few words.

Love this! What a powerful shift in those few words! Dominion and stewardship carry such different intentions and that could make all the difference. Thanks for contributing!

We are nature, we are not above it or below it. We part of this great planet and this dominant view that so many have over nature is our greatest downfall. To treat the earth with so much disrespect really saddens me, I see it everyday in so many ways. This is something that is very close to my heart and the impact it has on us is huge. So many feel so alone and isolated, not seeing this beautiful connection we all have with our home and one another. It is time to stand up and actively come together to reconnect with ourselves, with the earth xxx

Yes , very close to my heart too <3 Resonate with your comment <3

We part of this great planet and this dominant view that so many have over nature is our greatest downfall.

I can't think of anything eloquent to say but I feel this. I wrote something a while ago that sort of simplifies my take on this.

The best thing I have learned since moving to this homestead is the art of slowing down, seeing and appreciating everything. It seems as though my natural senses have awakened and I feel more connected to everything around me. This land nourishes me and I do my best to nourish it. The canvas and brush strokes are forever changing and it never ceases to be remarkable. We spend so much time searching for things to complete us all the while ignoring and moving too fast to see the gift that is right before us.

Thank you! I loved reading this.

walkerland, that is truly beautiful. thank you for gracing us with it.

THIS:

We spend so much time searching for things to complete us all the while ignoring and moving too fast to see the gift that is right before us.

It's a practice for me, one I'm thankful you reminded me of.

Incredibly moving post!
I completely agree with your views on sustainability and how we are using our planet just way too much!
I'll continue to do my but for this amazing world will live in.
Thanks for your post.
Darren

thank you! <3
Darren, by the looks of that post of your I just read- you're doing a great job! Teaching kids is one of the best avenues to shift toward sustainability. They are our future! <3

woah, that di prima poem is gorgeous

i like where you're going with this, on the whole. i like the idea of saying thanks when you take something - like picking flowers, or harvesting veggies for a meal. then, give back more than you take!

<3

<3 yes the gratitude aspect is def a huge part of this. and giving back more than you take is an important aspect, thanks for mentioning it.

Wonderful!! Thank you for sharing beautiful heart. ❤️

thank you, beautiful heart <3 :)

We have been called to be stewards of the land since day one. The less people living off the land the more detached people are and the less respect they have for it.

Exactly. Perfectly said!

Personally, I don't think it's committing suicide. It's being murdered. By soulless corporations being run by conscience-less individuals who don't care what the consequences of their actions are. The rest of humanity isn't their concern. Only power matters to them.

The only question is - will enough of 'us' be able to prevent the murder in progress OR will the pendulum swing with full weight into a 're-set', taking all of us along for the ride?

Yes aunt-deb fantastic point! 👏 that is a veritable post unto itself!! Would be a great topic- let me know if you write on it... perhaps we’ll be inspired— many of us should to spread awareness!! 💚

Go for it and I'm sure you'll be much more eloquent! Besides, y'all have the positive energy and vision to take things to the next level.

I'm a grumpy cynic when it comes to this stuff. Full disclosure on my biases ->

I was a mortgage biz employee for 25+ years. In '08 when the industry collapsed, hubby happened to be a painter in new construction homes. Needless to say, things did not change for the better. We saw it coming, thankfully, and pared down early. That's how I ended up self employed and hubby moved into a hobby based job (which has since dried up).

Fast forward to the Democratic primary fraud debacle and my last big delusion was exposed for the propaganda it was. They are just as bought as the 'opposition' party and not bothering to even hide it anymore.

After a small stroke in '16, I've mostly 'retired' from debating politics, economics, and religion (whole 'nother story) and try to focus on things close to home. Maybe that's selfish, but it's where I'm at. Opinions and all. ;~P

Thanks @aunt-deb...

wow yes you have certainly lived through it! my dad lost his home-building company during that industry crash so it was also close to home for my family. really good that you had pared down early! i've truly never had faith in any of the political systems, but yes we did all see what a nasty game it is this political election.... ugh!

hahah that you've retired from debates (mostly)... sorry to hear about your stroke, but glad to hear you're keeping things close to home. i really appreciated your words above, as i mentioned. i (wren) can get pretty heated about sooo many of these topics and i'm trying to find a good balance between being open and welcoming on steemit and sharing controversial opinions. i'm pretty opinionated in real life and people tend to know where i stand, but i also don't want to alienate people and am pretty "live and let live" and believe fully in freedom of speech and each person being on their own journey-- that said, i do have strong opinions lol!

i grew up in the church and have since left so i have quite strong opinions about that and didn't feel like i was unheated enough to respond to that know-it-all comment above in a kind, non-heated way. so many people, esp super religious people, don't have any space for alternative viewpoints and i knew it was probably useless in that case anyway... i say all of this to also say, i value your opinion and you have a non-heated way of expressing it, so i hope you'll chime in where you have the energy/feel like doing so. glad you're a part of our circle here, @aunt-deb <3 be well.

The real estate industry implosion was a shock to a lot of us who figured there'd always be jobs related to the field. We're glad we're out of it now, but that was not the easiest way to do it. Lol!

Ditto on the 'live and let live' viewpoint. It's easy until someone gets up into my grill with absolutes - especially if it's in an inappropriate venue. That one was obviously out of place. I wasn't sure about responding as a third party, so I tip-toed as much as I could, while hoping the message got across. On the structured religion thing... been there, done that, burned the t-shirt. Some folks find it comforting and secure. That's great! It got to where it was smothering me, so I ditched it.

Thanks for the kinds thoughts about my stroke. I was lucky and caught it very early. It affected my speech, so verbal debating is more difficult now. I have to choose my battles more carefully. Lol! Online debates are still an option. I just have to remind myself that the blockchain is forever. I better mean what I say & have my facts straight, ya know?

Anyway, for what it's worth, Steemit has become my current online home and refuge from the insanity that so pervasive elsewhere. I get to hang out with upbeat, smart, funny, and warm folk like y'all! Can't beat that with a stick!!!

love it @aunt-deb, thanks so much for the insightful comment and always a laugh! i'll check out the link about your stroke. my grandma had one that marked her later years and it is a threat in my fam so i'm curious to learn more about catching them early <3

This piece was written very well. My take is that the relationship of Mother and Father with offspring has to change in many ways. Whether Mother earth/ Father creator or parents of children, The parents are not being respected, care for or loved as they should be. It's not totally one sided issue and the fix is in the teaching being reinforced by behavioral training.
Love to you

Will follow you check us out if you will

thank you for this. love to you as well.

Love makes the world go round. Love

A great book i would highly recommend is "The soil will save us" It dives into repairing dead soil and is quite inspiring!

fantastic!!! haven't heard of it and that is such an important topic. one of my life's missions in fact.

You got a 25.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @kiaraantonoviche! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Thanks for your information brother.

This was written by a woman ✨😂✨

Thank you for such a fantastic post. I totally agree. We need to take care of the one who takes care of us the most. She works so hard everyday and we need to show our appreciation. It will be a great day when the world realizes this on a larger scale.

Glad to hear you agree and resonate. That day will indeed be cause for HUGE celebration, and I hope it comes soon. Thanks for reading and sharing.

I hope it comes soon as well. Thanks for such a great post!

Thanks for sharing this. I believe it is a war on nature and life. People who do not conform to this vision are ostracized or imprisoned. The US government devotes its resources to building the mechanisms of surveillance and violent repression for a time of ecological and economic collapse rather than searching for solutions. It is literally funding and supporting the the machines of death instead of nourishing the systems of life.

well said @dreambridge! couldn't say it better myself. we are not on the same page as our governments and they are certainly funding death and destruction. so often, then, it feels like it is up to us on a ground root level to care for life and help one another. i think we're up to the challenge! thanks for stopping by with the truth!

Thank you for making us remember our beloved Pacha Mama is a part of us as we are a part of her.

I have agreed with you for a long time on this subject, I always ask if our own "survival of the specie" through all this industrialization in the name of progress isn't suicide! Thankfully, the earth is stronger than we are and will survive the human race, I'm not so sure we will survive... we must change right now.

fantastic comment senor, couldn't agree more!

Thankfully, the earth is stronger than we are and will survive the human race, I'm not so sure we will survive... we must change right now.

amen to that. it's not a question of the earth's survival, she is strong AF, but of our own <3

Yea exactly, and I don't really understand how so many humans don't seem to grasp this very simple concept.... if we don't take care of this place where we live, if we act like a cancer or a virus, the ecosystem that we are a part of will definitely chew us up and spit us out into compost!

Thanks

By the way @mountainjewel, I have been looking for a "quote of the month" and I really like this a lot:

It's not a question of the earth's survival, she is strong AF, but of our own.

May use that or another quote along those line you'd like, to be part of my "post signature" for the month of March?

for sure! feel free to use it ;)

Yea exactly, and I don't really understand how so many humans don't seem to grasp this very simple concept...

right on, we have very similar views... i don't get it either!

What's crazy is that she does continue to love and nurture and care for us even after we abuse her. Just like a mama. Eventually she will have to cut us off in order to preserve herself, like a mother of an addict, but even then she will still love us. She'll cut us off so we can learn to stop being abusive.

She'll cut us off so we can learn to stop being abusive.

well said, humans are like kids who never learn... <3