DailyCelestialChallenge – Force of Nature – Electricity

in #nature6 years ago

Fellow Steemians, I hope you enjoy my contribution to the #celestialchallenge by @SirKnight.

Of all the awe-inspiring forces of nature I find lightning to be one of the most fascinating. Day or night, these potentially fatal bursts of energy light up the sky in the most beautiful patterns. Growing up in Florida, I have grown a love for storms and weighing aura they carry as they approach and unleash over you. Now as a photographer, the chance to capture that energy in an image is even more satisfying. Using a 20 second shutter speed, I fished across the night sky to fill the frame with billions of jouels of energy. “An average bolt of lightning, striking from cloud to ground, contains roughly one billion (1,000,000,000) joules of energy. This is no small amount, enough to power a 60-watt lightbulb for six months plus a forgotten open door refrigerator for a day.” (realclearscience.com)

DSC08947.jpg

Thank you for viewing and have a great day! If you enjoy please drop me a comment and stop by my website www.borderlesscitizen.net and instagram @borderlesscitizen