Wildlife of Riviera Maya: parrots guarding a grocery store in Playa del Carmen

in #nature7 years ago

Hi Steemers!

Today, I would like to share another animal story from our current Mexican hometown Playa del Carmen with you. A few blocks from our apartment, there is a little grocery store that we pass by almost every day. There is a metal holder for water barrels in front of the store and we often see a couple of beautiful parrots sitting on it.

One day, I asked the owner of the store how come the birds just don’t fly away and here is what she said.

She found one of them when it was a baby. It was injured. She took it home, cared for it and helped it heal the injury. The little fella got attached to her and followed her everywhere, even to work. She never put the parrot in a cage so he could move freely all the time. He loved sitting on the metal holder in front of the store and that´s where he met the other bird. She came to visit him more and more often until they eventually became an inseparable couple.

IMG_20170422_175652.jpg
Click on the image for full view

Every time we pass by the store, the birds are together – whether it´s on the water barrel holder or inside the store on their human caretaker´s shoulders.

I don’t remember their names but we call them the guard parrots as it really looks like they are guarding the store :)

This is also my entry for today´s #animalphotography contest hosted by @juliank.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

That's so cool! I wonder if Mexico is a natural habitat for parrots?

Yes, it is! There are many parrot species living here. Some time ago, even a little toucan showed up on our terrace :)

Wow! That’s hard to imagine.. I guess it’s one of the benefits of living in warm climate.

Absolutely :) At least for me as I really love watching wildlife and tropical regions usually have high biodiversity.

Omg is she ready to sell this beautiful couple?

I doubt. She loves the birds and the birds love her :)

beautiful parrot, ..@phortun
greetings from aceh, indonesia

The parrots are the maximum! His look seduces to cualqueir thing, to the tenderness, to the madness, to the hypnosis! hahaha They are true companions of life, you can exchange sounds and pirouettes with them. I had one that when arriving at my house I received with a great and eloquent: HELLO! ... as never before, nobody greeted me.

Thanks for the comment :)

Lovely colorful parrots!

thanks :)

Love touch all whether human or animals. Proved once again with this story. Nice writing.

Pěkné kousky ;-). @pipiczek bude nadšená :-D

Díky :) Ale myslím, že pipiczech to neuvidí - nesleduje mě a na českou verzi nezbytnou pro "cesky" jsem tentokrát neměl čas...

;-). Možná bude zvědavá, kde se o ní někdo zmiňoval :-D

Ohhh I miss Playa...and what the heck about the ferry and a possible bomb. Please be my informative friend and tell me the truth. I have taken that ferry dozens of times and can’t believe it at all!! What’s the real a scoop? Thx!!!

Honestly, I dont think I know more about it than you. We only know about that issue from the media, havent talked with the locals about it... Weird things sometimes happen in Playa, thats for sure though.

Darn media...sometimes I think stuff is made up just to keep tourists from coming to Mexico. I don’t know. When you say weird things, are you saying not good things? Things that really happen? Interested to know. I hope tourist still get down here and see beyond it. It’s so gorgeous and helps the locals a lot financially.

Well, I am afraid it is sometimes the opposite of what you say. When there was the peak of drug-related crimes here in Playa last year with many cases of shootings even in the city center and sometimes even in broad daylight, few of these incidents made it to media actually. I think the locals are well aware of the fact that being in media (because of bad things) too often would have a devastating effect on the tourism industry here. Fortunately, the safety situation is much better in Playa now. Not sure about the ferry issue though - like I said, I dont really know what happened there.

Are you serious!!! I am so shocked to hear it's was that bad in Playa. As we have heard, it's all between the locals and they tourists aren't a target. What precautions did you have to take if any? Glad to hear they added more safety to the area, especially being such a tourist destination. We are in Lo de Marcos...have you heard of it! We are loving it!! A clean cute town on the beach. Not many tourists....we have the whole RV park to ourselves pretty much!! Haha!

Yes, thats right - all the violence happens between the locals (the cartels) so tourists and visitors dont have to worry about it much but still, it was very uncomfortable knowing these things were happening in the town...

Nope, havent heard of Lo de Marcos but I am glad you are having such great times over there! :))

beautiful.Nice writing :)

thanks :)

the best picture of the birds I've seen stately

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 17:11:16
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1456.91/1600.00
Total Photos: 114
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wildlife-of-riviera-maya-parrots-guarding-a-grocery-store-in-playa-del-carmen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 2.49% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @phortun!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 7.96 % upvote from @boomerang.