Newfoundland Dog Breed

in #nature6 years ago

Welcome, I hope you enjoy this!

Newfoundland’s are an extraordinary breed of dogs. Many refer to them as “gentle giants”. This is because they are extremely gentle as well as very large dogs, making them the perfect family pet. They were originally used as working dogs that pulled nets for fisherman or hauled wood from the forest. Newfoundland’s have a heavy coat to protect them from icy waters. There coat can be many colors including black, brown, gray, or white and black.3F1F14AB-07F0-4685-8C72-7E8048183282.jpeg
This is my landseer Newfoundland named Sailor. It is referred to as a landseer because of its white and black colors.

As you can see above, Newfoundland’s have an extremely heavy coat that protects them from the cold.

Additionally, they are known for there ability to swim and rescue people. There are a variety of stories about Newfoundland dogs rescuing people from the water. Below is a video of a Newfoundland dog water rescue training.

I hope you enjoyed this and I would love to hear any constructive criticism or feedback you have for me. Follow me for more blogs about a variety of dog breeds.

Sort:  

Beautiful breed!

Lake Titicaca.....Nicaragua! Aqua! For my bunghole....

A very lovely post! Lot's of nice information for any dog lover, and that's me! A big upvote and followed. I hope to see more pics of Sailor!

Thanks so much, I really appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment! I will most certainly follow you back!

Hi @reileyp they certainly are a large breed of dog and a lovely breed at that. I don't have a dog now, but the time I did it was a German Shephard which I called Conan after Conan The Barbarian. He was a clever a dog that I taught many tricks, however after fracturing my spine I had let Conan go and stay with another member of the family, as I couldn't take him for walks and other. I miss him a lot but he's well looked after, and I'm happy with that. Thank you for sharing and take care @racykacy

Hey @racykacy thanks for the awesome feedback. I’m sincerely sorry to hear that you fractured your spine and had to give him to another family member. That must have been tough, but I’m glad to hear he is doing well. Thanks for the awesome feedback. Have a great day!

Your welcome and I will always comment on a post deserving of recognition... yay don't you just love dogs for bringing people together--- nice to meet you @reileyp Take care @racykacy

i just started my account the other day, im just wondering how you found my acc? trending? likes? comments?

Actually I just was looking under the tag dogs I believe. Have a great day and keep up the good work.

YES THEY CERTAINLY ARE EXTRAORDIANRY!! I LOVE NEWFIES TOO 😍