Backyard Wildlife

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I've often heard it said by some photographers, new and old, that there isn't anything to photograph nearby and they don't want to drive across town or across the country to find interesting subjects. So I thought I'd share some of the wildlife I've seen out my back door (or front door and sometimes kitchen or bedroom windows).

I've had bird feeders outside for awhile trying to attract various types of birds I've seen elsewhere in the area but it seems the feeders sometimes attracts more than just birds. I found this guy trying to get into the two feeders I had put out for seed. Yes, I've learned that they do like bird seed as much as the birds. So much so that I've had to start bringing the feeders in at night so they wouldn't destroy the poles and feeders while I was sleeping. However they've decided to come by during the day as well.

I watched this guy for awhile as he was probing for something good on the ground and then this happened. I chased him away from here 2-3 times but in the end he broke the pole and the feeder when I wasn't looking. I should have just brought the feeders in for the rest of the day. Live and learn...

Going For The Prize-01.jpg