Sea Photography Challenge: Some of My Favourite Photos in Tasmania So Far

in #nature2 years ago

This post is in response to the contest by @marcallaria which you can find here.

One of my favourite things about Tasmania is that you are always close to nature, and never far from the sea.

IMG20220412090306.jpg

This one is from the superintendents quarters at Lime Bay on the Tasman Peninsula, buult in the 1800s. This would have been his view. The convicts would have seen this sea every day and wondered how the hell they could escape from this hell of a penal colony. And here I am doing what I can to stay.

IMG20220411145219.jpg

I love this shot with my husband, who looks like quite the explorer as we top the dunes after a long walk to see the sea at last.

IMG20220409104646.jpg

In this one the vivid whites of the fence posts contrast the sea beautifully. It's a strange little sculpture at the end of a three hour beach Walk and I love the colours in this shot. Probably more 'photography' than 'photo'.

IMG20220407064317.jpg

As the challenge includes sunsets, here's an ocean sunrise. Yeah I know but how can you tell if a sun is rising or setting in any given photo? Haha. I love the sillouette of the gum in this one and the beautiful glow.

IMG20220406083330.jpg

The last one is from Bay of Fires and I love the lichen and the sky. Everything feels well composed.

I wish I had longer to break out my mirror less camera but I am usually far too absorbed in being in the moment to spend time doing that, and my phone does an alright job to capture the mood.

Honestly I have thousands of sea photos from this trip, but these are my favourite so far. I will see now if I can aim for the MOST spectacular sea photography to add to this post... HIVE challenges are like that, inspiring you to do creative things and join in the fun!

Sort:  

Please stop posting these photos. Makes me want to get back. South Africa is beautiful and in some areas even more than australia but still australia is my favourite and gas a special place in my heart. Thanks for sharing and enjoy every second of tasmania

Just got a 6 year old reminder from facebook to my time in australia...best time

Oh I bet.. and Tassie is the best of it as well. I love this state so much I don't want to leave.

Absolutely STUNNING images my dear!! The contrasts of textures and colours and light are marvelous.

Hope the Easter Bunny knows where to find you and hey, on the up side, the eggs won't melt. 🐰

And to you!!! We have been eating a ton of dark chocolate every day😂

No chocolate here, girl... only a few neurotic christians running around moaning about the lack of easter eggs. It's "feels like 42C" and the good thing is the eggs will probably hard-boil themselves. 🤣

I smiled all the way reading and looking at your pictures for minutes. You know, I am from Venezuela (although living in Argentina) and when I was a child, whenever I got mad with my parents, I would tell them something like “when I grow up, I will go to live in Tasmania, and you will never see me again”. I have always wanted to go there, from growing up watching nature documentaries about it.
I love the Tasmania demons so much that I even have a cotton-fabric stuffed one (not a real dead one). A friend gave it to me as a gift when she traveled there.
I support you being present and exploring such a gorgeous landscape, breathing that fresh air. I am grateful to you for sharing these pictures, because I felt I could imagine how it is to be there, and dream about it. Stunning, beautiful pictures.
Best wishes @riverflows, take care!

Oh wow that's amazing!! I love that story!!! It's very beautiful here, you'd love it.

I love them all, but I don't know why the last one just makes me want to go back to it. The rocks, the orange spots, the clouds -- it all invites us for a walk over there.