You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Thread #20- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants!

in #nature6 years ago

Hi @mountainwashere and followers. Great initiative and way to explore and learn in the world together.

Ok so here is a tree found in the dense forest of the South Island of New Zealand. I took this photo and I don't know what it is. The big tree branch that is bent (or curved) is about 1.6 m circumference. Clearly it is covered with vines, etc. I don't think I have any photos of the leaves as they were too high to get to. Any ideas?

Screen Shot 2018-07-23 at 11.23.31 am.png

Thanks!

Sort:  

Could this maybe be a Beech tree. Sure is a trippy looking
tree with what looks like root arms, perhaps a Mangrove?
I don't know many trees, but did try to look it up on goo gle
and your tree kinda looks like some of the Beeches.

What elevation was this @snowyknight ? :-)

Hey good insight. I don't think it is a mangrove as I was up in the hills (sorry I did not mention that before). Agreed that it looks like a beech some.

This was fairly low. Maybe 200 m above sea level.