The annual cycle

in #nature5 months ago (edited)

I just recently found out what it is that could comfort me or make me feel good in February in the Northern Hemisphere - that in the Southern Hemisphere autumn begins.

IMG_20240223_005914.jpg

And no, it's not just this climatic knowledge, a presumption perhaps, which is in the textbooks. But that it is a fact this year as well. That it's happening this year too.

IMG_20240223_005858.jpg

You know how the climate changes, how the seasons shift. But a photo of autumn on the other side of the world is comforting.
Not everything has changed. There is still something to cling to, to anchor, if you will.

IMG_20240223_005848.jpg

One needs unchanging things to be grounded, somehow, one needs recurring events to not lose one's bearings in this complex and rapidly changing world. And the annual cycle of nature helps us in this.


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hive-122727.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Well... knowing that something worse is happening somewhere to someone else, works sometimes in making us feel better, lol

!DHEDGE

You mean, autumn is something bad? 🤔 I don't think so. Fall and winter are the favorite part of the year for some who don't like summer. And just because I love it doesn't mean I think something bad has happened to someone and therefore I should be happy. Here I am talking only about myself and what is happening to me...

No, it isn't bad. It's just that compared to the incoming spring... it isn't the winner, for me :)