The Deadly Black Widow

in #nature7 years ago

The Black Widow

My spidey-senses were tingling today at work when we came across a Black Widow. For those that don't know, the Black Widow is a venomous spider that injects toxins to whatever it lays its bite onto. The toxin is especially harmful to humans as it can lead to muscle failure and other severe symptoms. Probably wasn't the greatest joke walking around scaring co-workers with a deadly spider with us.

image

The Black Widow females prey on males as food. Yup, you read that right...that's how crazy they are. While they won't harm you if you don't aggravate them, they are still dangerous if you accidently bump them. The bottom of a Black Widow has their trademark red emblem. I was able to get a picture of it but it is barely visible unless you zoom in on it.

My co-worker and I were joking around saying that maybe we should get ourselves bitten by the spider. Maybe we'd turn into Spiderman! Or maybe we'd just die painfully.

image

Upvote, resteem, and follow if you loved it and want to see more!

Sort:  

Epic pics, Im so scared of spiders but this is a safe distance away...lol

Haha I am too not going to lie but when I know where they are its chill for me

I usually find 4-6 a year in my barn here in central Texas. They're pretty reclusive. Usually find them behind something stacked next to a wall.

This post received a 4.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @stephcurry! For more information, click here!

I am hugely arachnophobic. I always tell my wife that I am ever bite by a spider, poisonous or not, I would probably die of a heart attack. I don't know which one is worse, black widows or brown recluses. I got the heeby jeebies just typing those names, heh.

hehe I saw a brown recluse at work the other day too. Those one's I won't mess with...they jump like 5 feet

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stephcurry from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.