Attire Required To Capture A Giant Praying Mantis

in #nature7 months ago


IMG_3585.JPG

A couple of weeks ago I was getting ready to go out somewhere when my grandson ran in the house all excited about finding a giant praying mantis in the park. He wanted a container to go catch this prize mantis. I didn't really pay much attention as I figured he'd probably bring it home to show to everyone and he'd catch me on my way out the door. He just loves capturing nature to take a gander up close of what they look like, how they react, etc., A couple weeks prior to that he had a few slugs in a plastic container taking his observations. When we go fishing he's usually more interested in looking for turtles, frogs, snails, clams or any other thing that crawls about.

It's finally time to leave and I go outside where he proudly proclaims he captured a giant praying mantis and points to the mantis sitting atop one of the pillars on the porch. It was quite incredible to believe the mantis was or had been sitting there all this time instead of flying off somewhere. I took a gander at my grandson and started giggling. I guess to capture a giant mantis required a long sleeved hoodie, one white cotton glove, one vinyl winter glove and a large bowl. I guess he prepared well for the capture. Now I understood why the mantis had stuck around for so long, he took one look at my grandson and decided my grandson was more scare of him than he was of my grandson. lol.

IMG_3588.JPG