Summer arrives in Norfolk

in #nature3 years ago

Forgive me folks. Its been a long old time since I last made a blog post. Back then this was steemit and I see many dramas have occurred in my absence.

Norfolk has had a pretty cold and miserable spring, but last week brought about a big change and now we have hot weather, beautiful sunshine and many burnt people.

This bank holiday Monday I took advantage of the new weather to get back into some wild places and find some cool creatures and plants to photograph

P5310162.jpg
(bird's-foot trefoil blooming in Glanford)

I visited a new place for me, Kelling heath. I was hoping to find the beautiful Emperor moth, which I have never seen before, as it's the end of their flight season. Sadly no moths but I do look forward to making a more determined effort to find them next year. I did however find this lovely Small Copper butterfly, a first of the year form me.

P5310032.jpg
(Small Copper at Kelling Heath)

After Kelling Heath I headed to an old favorite haunt, a delightfull river valley full of wildlife called Glanford. There was insect life in perfusion and wildflowers galore in the flood plain.

P5310133.jpg
(A mayfly taking a rest)

I was unable to photograph a beautiful blue kingfisher that zipped passed at high speed, or the handsome greater spotted woodpecker with his blood red rump. I did however have great time photographing flowers and dragonflies and I spent a while following a giant hornet in the hope of finding its nest. A mission for another day!

P5310170.jpg
(Red Campion on the flood plain at Glanford)

P5310201.jpg
(A dragonfly watching for prey)

Sort:  

Welcome back, the UK is looking great this May/ June - best time of year!

Cheers Zebedee! It is lovely. looking forward to more adventures soon.

Good to have you posting again. Hive has moved on a bit from what Steem was. Hope it's fun for you.

I've been camping at Kelling Heath a few years back. Nice part of the country. Great pics. There are some communities that like this sort of nature shots.

!PIZZA

Thanks Steve. I'm pleased to see people interested in the content I want to make. I need to re-explore this platform. I'm sure there where no 'communities' when I was last here and I would like to find others with similar interests.

Fascinating insects has a lot of people. You can post to your own feed and cross-post to a community to get seen there if you like. Just have to see what works for you.

Have fun.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Connect

Trade


@timspawls! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

Congratulations @timspawls! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!