Just When I Thought I've Seen It All.

in #nature7 years ago

IMG_7061.JPG
So I was sitting by the campfire the other day. Minding my business and sipping on an ice cold beer. The wife and kids had just recently gone to bed in the camper and all was fairly quite.
Soon there a rustling in the bushes. Not like a bear moving through but the kind of rustling that usually means there is a little critter. So I turned in my chair to see what was the ruckus. I could tell it was a squirrel, that's kinda normal as there is usually lots of them cleaning up the uncracked sunflower seeds. This little guy was much different though.
This little guy made my jaw drop. He scurried up a tiny birch tree sapling till he was about 8 feet in the air. The sapling started to sway under his weight and I was wondering what he was up to then all of a sudden he jumped, stretched out like a parachute and flew through the forest.
Now I'm not oblivious that there is such a thing as a flying squirrel but I have never seen one in my many many times to the forest. I had no idea that they existed in my part of the world.
The next day I explained to the wife what I had seen. She kinda figured that I may have had a few to many cold drinks but I assured her that I knew what I had seen.
The next evening I was doing the same thing. Chilling at the fire by myself shortly after everyone had gone to bed. And another scurry in the bush soon presented the same little critter.
He came right up to my chair and cleaned up some seeds and hung out for a bit.
I snapped a few pictures with the iPhone and he took off. Was a cool little guy to see for the first time. IMG_7056.JPGIMG_7055.JPGIMG_7054.JPG

Sort:  

Nice! In all my years spent in the bush, I have not seen a flying squirrel either.
Have however played with squirrels by tying nuts onto a fishing rod... lol
Following and re-steemed!

Sounds like fun. Thanks for the resteem bud.

I was hoping you caught him in flight...sorry, this comment is super late. And I will admit to having slight ulterior motives for being here, but I did enjoy the story. I imagine it would be tough to get a picture of him flying in the darkness though, I don't think I have a camera that would do a great job of that.

As to my ulterior motives, if you remember me then you can probably guess. And I have no way of knowing if you ever check in any more than he does. But, on the off chance, there are quite a number of concerned people. I'm at the top of that particular list, I probably spent more time talking to your cousin then anyone in my life for a period there.
If you see this, please let him know that he is sorely missed by many. That his return would probably be pretty epic, contrary to what he might think he has definitely not been forgotten. He made his mark here.
Translation: Damien getcha arse back on here, we need your style of entertainment!