Easter Flowers, Memories and Resurrection

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Happy Easter!


BearedIris.jpg


Bearded Iris
Photographed on my iPhone 8Plus.


pinkTreeBlossom.jpg


pinkTreeBlossom (2).jpg


Alas, I don't know exactly what kind of flowering tree this was,
but isn't this flower stunning!

Photographed on my iPhone 8Plus.


TulipPinkSpecial2.JPG


TulipPinkSpecial3.JPG


A pink tulip with lovely curled petals!
Photographed on my Canon PowerShot.



I have many happy memories of Easter including, going to the Easter Church Service to celebrate Jesus' Resurrection, hunting for real, hard boiled, dyed eggs as a kid in my backyard with my 2 sisters and brother and Easter Family dinner with extended family that included leg of lamb with mint jelly and lots of other wonderful food. My older sister and I would always have dish duty to hand wash and dry all of the china, crystal goblets and silverware(yes the real honest to gosh fork, knives and spoons that you had to polish if they got tarnished silver).


Fast forward to prepping for the Easter egg hunt for my kids still included dyeing real eggs, but then add in to that, filling lots of plastic eggs with chocolate candy and dimes and nickels and the occasional quarter. Of course all of this had to be done after they went to bed and the next morning you had to get up really early to hide all of the eggs!


My kids have been grown now for a few years and Easter will be pretty quiet - no dyeing eggs or filling plastic eggs the night before. We've already been to church and we will go to an Easter Brunch with some friends and family.


I always knew why we celebrated Easter, even as a kid - it wasn't really about an Easter rabbit delivering eggs - that was just some side fun - no it was and is for me about remembering that Jesus was resurrected and is my Savior!



Happy Blessed Easter!

violetmed150.jpg


April 1, 2018

Sort:  

Great pictures! Those tulips are pretty awesome looking! I remember hunting for real eggs too. One year we found a real live rabbit's foot on our Easter egg hunt. It was covered in ants. Freaky!! This year we tried hard to go to church (a new one), but we were given bad directions or something (since Panama doesn't do addresses), so we ended up driving around looking for it and then coming home. We sat around and had PBJ for lunch and pancakes for dinner. We talked to all grandparents and when one set said, "Happy Easter," one child asked when Easter is. Oops. :) It was a different type of Resurrection Sunday for us this year...our second in Panama!! We moved here one year ago this week!

Well, at least you had a nice day! Haha, that's weird about the rabbits's foot!

The foot was memorable. I remember it from when I was around 5 or so... Or maybe it was a dream but a vivid one. Ha. Like that tornado I was never in but have a vivid memory of it from a dream I had. ;)

What a wonderful time you have now. One beauty around. But my spring:(

SAM_0303.JPG

Wow, you still have lot of snow! Hopefully it will melt soon!

hah I remember the plastic eggs with nickels, dimes, and—if you were lucky—quarters. My folks did the same thing. Good memories. And great photos! The mystery flower looks very similar to a kind of cherry blossom. Whatever it is, it's lovely.

I was thinking it was some kind of cherry tree because the Dallas Arboretum has a lot of them, but I just get confused between cherry trees, peach and apricot trees. I've even studied photos of their bark to try and identify them. Anyway, it looks like a lot of the cherry trees in Japan that you post have white flowers. Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you @violetmed. We have Easter eggs in the Korean church too but they are smoked so they turn out brown but they are real tasty. Our trees pear and cherry trees started to flower today. It is really spring.

Yea, I'm glad you it is looking like spring now in Korea also! Very interesting about the eggs. :)

Just beautiful and lovely memories shared. Happy Easter, Violet:)

Thank you my dear and Happy Easter to you too. this is such a special holiday for so many people around the world both as a religious holiday and also a holiday about gift giving. Growing up my parents always treated is special. As an adult in a country where it is not really celebrated, for me it is more of a quiet remembrance still special none the less. Enjoy your day and your family. Happy Easter!

Warm pink color of the flower, seems glowy when you look at it :D

Happy Easter! In Croatia, we dye eggs and then we play with them :D

Love your photos especially the pink tulips with curled petals.. Happy Easter!^^

Happy Easter. Do enjoy the celebration.

Wow. That is so beautiful.Thank you so much for sharing,

@violetmed, happy easter tooooooo you. Thank you for nice photography of beautiful flowers.

This post resteemed by @jareen61. Thank for your good words from your memories.

beautiful I liked the pink tulip look spectacular

Yes, I agree!

Nice one

Very nice flower

You just planted 0.18 tree(s)!


Thanks to @violetmed

We have planted already 2706.69 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18626.79
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 3.19$.
Learn how to power up smart here!