The Magic & Mystery of Birds — Featuring Videos (Day 43)

in #nature6 years ago


Dove.png
Starling Murmuration

...hypnotic like a school of airborne fish
they frolic about in the open sky
flickering into focus and diffusing
back to the ether that spawned them

gathering like a storm and breaking in waves
raining hard, a downpour of butterflies
flitting like a great kite, giddy it got away
yet guided by a steady and invisible hand

how do they know to spell such exalted shapes
fluid arabesques across the stage of heaven
as they swarm and glide as though of one mind
a soundless symphony, mysteriously conducted

poor rational mind, it would sooner accept
a believable lie than an incredible truth.

©Yahia Lababidi



Dove image.png
This is my entry for Day 43 of @d-pend's The 100 Day Poetry Challenge. If you're looking to develop your skills (as a writer or Steemian) and discover a sense of community, please, consider joining Steemit School on Discord

Sort:  

Oh, those last two lines take it deeper into another poem.

I read this before writing my daily piece which is not my normal as not to be front-loaded, however, I just could not wait when I spied the topic over at the Isle.

Beautiful. :)

You're a perceptive spirit, no surprise; last 2 lines are an opening onto the vast... world view in a couplet.

I know what you mean about not taking in outside influences, when one is pregnant, before delivering :)

Thanks, for breaking your rules and I look forward to reading your piece.

They are simply fascinating - proof, in my mind, of the underlying oneness, and geometric certainty, of the universe. As a rational and self-perpetuating entity unto itself. These lines were key for me:

they swarm and glide as though of one mind
a soundless symphony, mysteriously conducted

Really beautiful write. I'd never normally dream of linking my own work under another poet's, but, I feel you might get a kick out of this one :) Hope you have a good evening, wherever you are!

I'm grateful you shared your justly Curied bird poem, where we seem to arrive at the same conclusion:

a truth as collapses
toward one

Geometric certainty is also a nice way of putting it. That's where the awe of scientists comes in, the source of their holy curiosity (as Einstein put it).

I'm in Florida, USA, it's 3:30 pm--a good time to take a computer break & spend some time with a book :)

The universe, language, society, small habits of birds and people - seems to me it's patterns all the way down. I think that's where my love of system science comes from, an appreciation of this stuff first on the poetic level. A lot of it also bears striking similarities to buddhist teaching...

Nice one - sending my regards from ever-rainy Britain ;)

Islamic teaching, too, with its emphasis on geometry, patterns, the mystery of numbers, etc.... Theologians argue, mystics agree as Meister Eckhardt says. Truths hides in plain view itself, waiting for us...

Btw, I went to boarding school in good ‘ole UK (Bristol) and, despite that, retain a fondness for ever-rainy Britain 🇬🇧

Haha, that's awesome, glad we didn't scare you off completely :P

:D Brexit gave me quite a scare... But, then, the entire world seems to have gone insane... (and I might visit London for my upcoming book launch: https://unbound.com/books/where-epics-fail/) .

Great post hear. I have seen these flocks documented before bet never with such written beauty. I love this piece, followed to read more. Keep up the good work :)

Thanks, for your generous response, Harry. As a poet, one cannot compete with nature’s great beauty or infinite variety...

What one can do, as I’ve tried to do here, is hold up a sort of word-mirror.

Gratifying to learn you think I did it some justice 🙏🏼

I was wondering where you were going with this but the ending makes good meditations.

I love to see the schools of birds, saw some the other day, everyone in traffic was looking in awe. If only humans could move like that ( oh wait, they do, but usually for the wrong reasons lol)

I wasn’t going anywhere with this, poets are not in a rush to make a point.. Poems are not essays, that way. I was merely admiring... a praise piece, if you will 🤓

Glad you got something out of it and, yes, we might benefit from the grace of winged things. 🙏🏼

Thank you for that perspective on “ going somewhere”, I always figured I had to make a point.

You’re welcome & nope. A poem might stir feeling or thought, serve as a kind of snapshot. It does not have to prove anything or make any points. Peace ✌🏼

Great post brother, I like your post !!