Missing my chipmunks!

in #nature6 years ago

In Wisconsin we have chipmunks. Adorable little cheeps. Last year I worked hard to be able to feed them and touch them. A few of them have names now and have proven themselves to be very friendly! And I miss them! They go to sleep for the winter and only wake up occasionally in their nests underground to eat their seeds that they stored away before the snow started. But! Yesterday, I saw my best buddy come out to enjoy some warm sunshine -- it was almost 60 degrees Fahrenheit yesterday. He was out there again today, though it was not quite as warm. He won't let me pet him yet for this year -- he hasn't seen me since November! But, he let me near his home, so that's a good sign. This picture of the tree stump is from yesterday! The picture of him eating seeds from my hand is from last Summer.
And this link goes to a one minute video from last year, also! https://photos.app.goo.gl/FbzcjyvuuaRyU2VB3 20170703_121026.jpg20180227_115422.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 27 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you!!

Spring is coming....although I'm afraid this will prove to just be a tease and we will see more winter! I love seeing your chipmunk friends!

I saw a picture from my garden last year, looking beautiful with spring flowers. We still have 2 and a half months for that picture...

This is the worst part of winter for me. It just drags. Although I have heard Sandhill Cranes flying over the past two days!

I love that video!! 💜🤣

I watch that video all the time! He's so cute!

We mostly have squirrels here. I see the odd chipmunk though. That's cool you were able to get them to come right up to you.

So adorable. The squirrels out here in the woods are a little shy. The squirrels at my house in the city are more tame. I used to have one come up to the window for crackers.

Soooo cute and adorable!! I never thought about them hibernating but I don't see too many chipmunks here, the squirrels will come right up if you offer them a little snack though. I do get to see chipmunks when we go camping at a state park in PA. I always love to see them when we go!! ❤

They drop their little body temperatures down to like 40 degrees F, and slow to like 2 heart beats per minute or some absurd thing. But! I've been seeing more and more of them all week. They won't like the snow that is supposed to be coming here. lol

I am glad that you are enjoying your little friends :)

It's so nice to have them back!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thank you!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check this Breaking News!

He's so cute))) Chip or Dale)))))

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!